Skip to main content

Early Childhood Education: Awards & Bibliographies

Book Awards

Children’s Book Awards

American Library Association list of Book & Media awards http://www.ala.org/alsc/awardsgrants/bookmedia

Association for Library Services to Children – Annual “Notable Book” awards http://www.ala.org/alsc/awardsgrants/notalists/ncb

Database of Award-Winning Children’s Literature - A database searchable by age, historical period, ethnicity/nationality of protagonist, gender and more. www.dawcl.com

Newberry Award [awarded for "distinguished contribution to American literature for children"] and Caldecott Award [awarded to "artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children"].

 

Lists of Books by Subject - Bibliographies

Bibliographies

128 Bibliographies on a variety of subjects. From Center for the Children’s Book, Graduate School of Library and Information Science, Univ. of Illinois. http://ccb.lis.illinois.edu/bibliographies.html

List of Children’s Books about the Disability Experience http://www.ala.org/awardsgrants/sites/ala.org.awardsgrants/files/content/awardsrecords/schneideraward/2009_schneider_bio_children.pdf


Recommended Books for Children Coping with Loss or Trauma from the National Association of School Psychologists. Includes "tips for using books to engage with children" http://www.nasponline.org/resources/crisis_safety/Books_for_Children_Dealing_With_Loss_or_Trauma.pdf

Books helping children deal with cancer. From the Children's Cancer Research Fund. http://www.childrenscancer.org/main/books_for_helping_kids_deal_with_cancer/

50 Multicultural Books Every Child Should Know. Compiled by the Cooperative Children's Book Center, School of Education, University of Wisconsin, Madison. Includes reviews. http://www.education.wisc.edu/ccbc/books/detailListBooks.asp?idBookLists=42

Caldecott Award Winners

The Caldecott Medal is awarded annually to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children. Selected by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association.

2013 Caldecott Medal Winner

This Is Not My Hat, written and illustrated by Jon Klassen, published by Candlewick Press.

In this darkly humorous tale, a tiny fish knows it’s wrong to steal a hat. It fits him just right. But the big fish wants his hat back. Klassen’s controlled palette, opposing narratives and subtle cues compel readers to follow the fish and imagine the consequence.

2013 Caldecott Honor Books

Creepy Carrots!, illustrated by Peter Brown, written by Aaron Reynolds and published by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers, an imprint of Simon & Schuster Children’s Publishing Division

Jasper the rabbit loves carrots until he notices they are everywhere. He is convinced they’re coming for him! Pronounced shadows, black borders and shaded edges enhance this ever so slightly sinister tale with a distinctly cinematic feel. This is one serving of carrots children will eagerly devour.

Extra Yarn, illustrated by Jon Klassen, written by Mac Barnett and published by Balzer + Bray, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers

A selfish archduke threatens to halt a little girl's transformation of a colorless town and steal her box of magical yarn.  Klassen's innovative digital technique results in shifts of color that signal character change and critical turns of plot -all done with just the right stitches of humor.

Green, illustrated and written by Laura Vaccaro Seeger and published by Neal Porter Books, an imprint of Roaring Brook Press

In this original concept book, Seeger engages all the senses with her fresh approach to the multiple meanings of “green.” Using thickly-layered acrylics, word pairings and cleverly placed die cuts, she invites readers to pause, pay attention and wonder. 

One Cool Friend, illustrated by David Small, written by Toni Buzzeo and published by Dial Books for Young Readers, a division of Penguin Young Readers Group

Energetic line and dizzying perspective combine for a rollicking tale of Father, Elliot and a highly improbable pet (or two). Buzzeo’s text, brimming with sly wordplay, earns its perfect counterpoint in Small’s ink, watercolor and pencil illustrations with chilly details and visual jokes that invite many repeated readings.

Sleep Like a Tiger, illustrated by Pamela Zagarenski, written by Mary Logue and published by Houghton Mifflin Books for Children, an imprint of Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Publishing Company

Surrounded with dreamlike images of crowns, ornate patterns and repeated visual motifs, her parents coax her into bed. Using mixed media artwork on wood enhanced with computer illustrations, this is a whimsical story with universal appeal.

For more information, and previous winners, see the Caldecott Medal Home Page [where the above information came from].