Skip to main content

COMM 130 Interpersonal Communication: Find Journal Articles

What is a Scholarly Article?

Scholarly articles are written by experts in the field and, additionally, peer reviewed by a panel experts in the field.  They tend to include a lot of research and data, and the information in the article is backed up by a list of references. 

Example of a Journal with Scholarly Articles

American Journal of Economics and Sociology

Popular articles are often written by journalists for a general audience and are not reviewed by experts in the field.  Popular articles rarely include references.

Example of a Magazine with Popular Articles

cover of people magazine with a picture of justin bieber

 

Recommended Article Databases

The library subscribes to article databases that are not freely available via the Web. To find articles, you'll first need to select a database. From the Library Homepage, click on the Articles tab to locate the databases.

Academic Search Premier

  • This large multi-disciplinary/multi subject database that includes magazines, newspapers and peer-reviewed journal articles. Good place to start!

JSTOR

  • JSTOR provides access to full-text academic electronic journals in various disciplines including 

Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection

  • Communication and Psychology often goes hand-on-hand, make sure you search this database for relevant articles.

Business Source Elite

  • Includes business journal articles. Use for articles related to workplace communication

 

Scholarly vs. Popular Sources