Skip to main content

BIOL 230 Staples: Find Articles

Cell & Molecular Biology

Anatomy of a Scholarly Article

From Defiance College

How to Read a Scientific Article

Scientific articles are often challenging to read. Here's a great article about how to read and understand a scientific journal article:

"How to Read and Understand a Scientific Journal Article" by Anthropology professor Jennifer Raff

Databases

Library Databases are collections of articles from magazines, academic/scholarly journals, newspapers, e-books and more.

Use Databases A-Z list on Library's Homepage, under Articles tab to access the following databases useful for your research:

General Databases

Science Databases (full-text access)

On the Web

  • PubMed or PubMedCentral. The National Library of Medicine's large biomedical and clinical medicine database. PubMed includes biomedical literature, life science journals, ebooks and more. Many articles available for free.

NOTE: To access any of Cañada Library's Databases like ProQuest Natural Science, go to the Library's homepage and select the Articles tab. Once selected, click on the database name you would like to access from the Browse Databases From A-Z pull down menu.

Top Journals for BIOL 230!

Question: How do I find out which Journals the Library subscribes to/are included in the Library databases?

Answer: Search for journal titles here.

See also the Public Library Of Science:  Biology for other full-text articles from open-access biology journals.

Remote Access

You can access the Library's electronic resources from anywhere! 

If you are off campus, you will need to log in with your library card number and pin (last four digits of your phone number).

Can't find your library card? Give us a call. (650) 306-3480.

Using PubMed-Tutorial

Learn how to effectively search PubMed with this excellent tutorial by the National Library of Medicine. Or try the PubMedCentral Quick Start Guide.

How to get Full-text article from PubMed

Many articles are available for free:

  • Use the filter sidebar and click the Free full text available link to narrow your results to resources that are available for free on the web.
  • Some publishers will provide free access to articles after you have registered as a guest.
  • Contact the Library to see if we have a journal article in our collections.