Skip to main content

Anthropology: Articles

Accessing Databases

 Accessing Databases

To access any of Cañada Library's Databases, like Opposing Viewpoints, you will need go to the library's homepage and select the Articles tab. Once selected, click on the database name you would like to access from the Browse Databases From A-Z pull down menu.

Anthropology Databases

To see a comprehensive list of all the recommended databases for Anthropology, click here.

What is a Scholarly Article?

Scholarly articles are written by experts in the field and, additionally, reviewed by a panel experts in the field.  They tend to include a lot of research and data, and the information in the article is backed up by a list of references. 

Example of a Journal with Scholarly Articles

Popular articles are often written by journalists for a general audience and are not reviewed by experts in the field.  Popular articles rarely include references.

 Example of a Magazine with Popular Articles

People Magazine Cover

 

 

 

 

 

For more detailed information on what a scholarly article looks like, see the excellent tutorial Anatomy of a Scholarly Article.

Scholarly or Peer Reviewed Articles

Professors will often ask you to use a Scholarly or Peer Reviewed article.  The 5-minute clip below explains what Peer Review means and why it is important.

Created by North Carolina State University Libraries

Accessing Databases

If you are off campus, you will need to log in with your library card number and pin (last for digits of your phone number).

Academic Search Premier Database

JSTOR Database

JSTOR

Ethnic NewsWatch Database