Skip to main content

Children's Literature Workshop: Children's Books

Children's Books at Cañada College

Cañada's collection of children's books can be found at the front of the library.  To find a more extensive collection of children's books and videos, visit your local public libraryThe Peninsula Library System Catalog includes books from libraries throughout San Mateo County.  To request books from other libraries, place a Hold.  You will be asked to enter your library card number and PIN.  The book will be sent to Cañada in 3-5 days.

You can also find book recommendations for young readers compiled by Redwood City Librarians!

The San Francisco Public Library also has wonderful pathfinders in various subjects for young children (anyone in California can apply for a free SFPL library card).

Online Books: BookFlix

ebooks for Kids (you must have a Redwood City library card to use this collection):

bookflix

Watch, Read, & Learn
Have fun online with paired fiction and nonfiction!

Tumble books offers online books in English and Spanish that students can listen to, follow the text, and watch.  Try it out!

Reference Sources in Electronic Formats

With an increase of Americans in the United States identifying with more than one culture, there is a need for authentic multicultural resources that accommodate this growing community. The scope of this collection is primarily composed of free databases and searchable multicultural children’s e-resources that will serve as selection tools for information professionals and educators at the Cañada College Library.  However, early childhood education (ECE) students, and others looking to expand their knowledge of authentic multicultural children’s literature will benefit as well.

Please contact the author, Valeria Estrada for questions regarding these resources.

 

Source: Anti-defamation League (ADL):

Annotation: ADL is a credible organization which includes the selected archive of recommended multicultural & anti-bias books for children. This site is simple, user-friendly and provides easy access points in the form of related links, “featured books archive” that goes back to 2007, Book categories such as “customs and traditions” and “folktales, Legends & Poems.” All types of users interested in this subject will enjoy the ease of use of this resource, and educators and students will appreciate the comprehensiveness of details such as links to how evaluate children’s literature.

Source: The Children’s Peace Education and Anti-Bias Library:

Annotation: Noted by the National Association for the Education of Young Children (NAEYC) as a wonderful resource to discovering anti-bias literature. The breadth of information is thorough and colorful tabs that direct users to different topics offers ease of use. The “Find Books” tab provides users with an advanced search feature that includes limiters such as: “age,” “book type,” and “making all people visible,” which allows you to choose limiters such as “Racial/Ethnic Identities.” An additional tab translates the entire site to Spanish which will benefit our ESL/ELL learners.

Source: Cooperative Children’s Book Center (CCBC) University of Wisconsin-Madison: 

Annotation: This web source is more of a bibliography, but is included because of the authoritativeness of the source and comprehensiveness of the information. CCBC includes in-depth bibliographies and booklists. There is also an “advanced book search” feature which allows you to limit by genre, age, or multicultural categories. Users will appreciate the search tips above this feature. Besides providing an excellent list of multicultural children’s literature, users can identify whether they are a teacher, librarian, or student for example, for additional information tailored to them.

Source: Database of Award-Winning Children’s Literature (DAWCL): 

Annotation:  DAWCL is a database compiled by Lisa Bartle, a reference librarian at Cal State University, San Bernardino. This websites provides a comprehensive collection of multicultural resources that can be found under the “Search DAWCL” link. Limiters such as “Ethnicity/Nationality of Protagonist or Tale” allow users to find resources that are culturally competent. Frequency of updates to this site is evident as the page was last revised in 2013.

Source: International Children’s Digital Library (ICDL): 

Annotation: ICDL is a collaboration of the University of Maryland’s interdisciplinary research team, and the Internet Archive.  This comprehensive collection is easy to use and included an extensive collection of international children’s literature. This e-resource provides superior coverage of hundreds of complete children’s books available in different languages (from English to Farsi) in digitized format. Digitized books can be found through “Simple Search,” or by advanced search by selecting on the bottom left link titled: “Search By Collections.”  Those searching for multicultural literature will find the keyword search useful as well as the other limiters provided.

Source: International Journal of Multicultural Education (IJME): 

Annotation:  IJME is open-access electronic journal that includes peer reviewed articles, and reviews for books and multimedia. This search tab includes limiters in “search,” “date,” and “index terms” categories. Search results yield separate results based type of resource. With a reputable organization and frequent updates, this e-resource will offer authentic and relevant content to all targeted users. [will add an example or two of articles/topics so that users would know what to expect on this site—especially since this is going to appeal to a smaller group of users than some of the other sites]

Source: United States Board on Books for Young People (USBBY): 

Annotation: This reputable organization selects their book lists with the help of the Outstanding International Books (OIB) committee which selects notable books annually. The lack of a search feature is forgiven because of the authoritativeness of the web source. Further, the superior coverage and content will provide the best of international and multicultural children’s literature to information professionals, educators, and students alike. 

Recommended Reading Lists

Ready to learn! Feelings and Emotions About Going to School for the First Time

                                        iStock image found from: www.dunwoodyumc.org

 Ready to learn! Feelings and Emotions About Going to School for the First Time

  • Why this list would be relevant and of interest: This list will provide educators and parents with books and resources that will help young children (and their parents/guardians) with the transition of starting school.

  • What age or age range is the list intended for: The target age is PreS-Gr. 2, but the resources can easily accommodate older children in elementary school.

Storytime 2013


Weekly Storytime Schedule