Skip to main content

Children's Literature Workshop: Articles

Online ECE Journals

Print Journals

Finding Articles: Databases

Looking for articles on topics in ECE?   Databases include articles from a variety of journals, and they are a great place to start. Type in a few keywords and see what kinds of articles you find.

If you are working from off campus, you will have to enter your library card number (on the back of your library card) and PIN number (the last four numbers of your phone number) to access these databases. 

Please stop by the reference desk or call  (306-3267) if you have any trouble!

ERIC (EBSCO) Database

Literature Resource Center Database

Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection Database

Health Source: Consumer Edition Database

Biography in Context Database

Keywords for ECE

Good Keywords to use when looking for ECE materials include:

  • Early childhood education

  • Education, preschool
  • Child Development
  • Child Psychology
  • Parenting

What is a Scholarly Article?

Scholarly articles are written by experts in the field and, additionally, reviewed by a panel experts in the field.  They tend to include a lot of research and data, and the information in the article is backed up by a list of references. 

Example of a Journal with Scholarly Articles

Botany Journal Cover

 

 

 

 

 

 

Popular articles are often written by journalists for a general audience and are not reviewed by experts in the field.  Popular articles rarely include references.

Example of a Magazine with Popular Articles

People Magazine Cover

 

 

 

 

 

 

For more detailed information on what a scholarly article looks like, see the excellent tutorial Anatomy of a Scholarly Article.