Skip to main content

ENGL 836 Sumstad: Find Articles

A Library Subject Guide for beginning research on the topics of Immigration and Regulating Substances.

How to Access Databases

To Access the databases go to the library homepage:

  1. Click on the Articles tab.
  2. Click on the database name you want to access from the Browse Databases From A-Z pull down menu. 
  3. You can also search the databases by subject such as Literature.

From off campus you will need to authenticate with your library card number and pin (last for digits of your phone number).

Using Articles

Articles are a valuable resource in any research paper or project. Articles (as opposed to books) generally possess the following characteristics:

    • Shorter length
    • Currency of information
    • Focus on a specific aspect of a topic 

    Suggested Article Databases

    The library databases listed here are good starting points to find articles on your topics.

    • Academic Search Premier - contains journals from all subject areas in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Use Citation Tools feature to cite an article in MLA or APA format.
    • Gale Virtual Reference Library - contains keyword searchable reference sources. Good starting point; get an overview of a topic and identify some keywords you can use to search for articles.
    • America: History and Life with Full Text - is an excellent database for finding information on the history and culture of the United States and Canada.
    • Ethnic Newswatch - provides information on issues concerning a variety of ethnicities including, African American/Caribbean/African, Arab/Middle Eastern, Asian/Pacific Islander, European/Eastern European, Hispanic, Jewish and Native People.
    • Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center - focuses on controversial issues; overviews; conflicting viewpoints; articles are mainly from popular sources.
    • CQ Researcher Provides in-depth reporting and analysis on issues and provides historical background on the topic, outside commentary, pro/con arguments, chronological information, etc.

    Suggested Articles

    Immigration articles

    Allen, James P., and Eugene Turner. "Migrants Between California And Other States." California Geographer 47.(2007): 1-26. Academic Search Premier. Web. 24 Sept. 2013.

    Foroohar, Rana. "Open The Door And Let 'Em In." Time 182.4 (2013): 24. Academic Search Premier. Web. 25 Sept. 2013. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=89078975&site=ehost-live

    Gerston, Larry N. "Immigration In California: Conflict, Confluence, And Controversy." Mediterranean Quarterly 15.4 (2004): 57-71. Academic Search Premier. Web. 24 Sept. 2013.
     
    Rivera, John-Michael. "The DREAM Act And Other Mexican (American) Questions." Phi Kappa Phi Forum 93.2 (2013): 4-7. Academic Search Premier. Web. 25 Sept. 2013.
     
    Stanislowski, Chris. "Arizona's New Law: A Call For Reform." New Presence: The Prague Journal Of Central European Affairs 12.2 (2010): 35-36. Academic Search Premier. Web. 24 Sept. 2013.
     
     
    Regulating Substances articles
     
    Cockburn, Alexander. "Obama And Marijuana: A Great Betrayal?." Nation 294.25 (2012): 10. Academic Search Premier. Web. 20 Sept. 2013. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=76574252&site=ehost-live
     
    Dickinson, Tim. "Obama's Pot Problem." Rolling Stone 1172/1173 (2012): 33-36. Academic Search Premier. Web. 20 Sept. 2013.

     

    Garcia, Andrea M. "State Laws Regulating Prescribing Of Controlled Substances: Balancing The Public Health Problems Of Chronic Pain And Prescription Painkiller Abuse And Overdose." Journal Of Law, Medicine & Ethics 41.(2013): 42-45. Academic Search Premier. Web. 20 Sept. 2013. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=87017729&site=ehost-live

    Grahame, Thomas J., and Richard B. Schlesinger. "Health Effects Of Airborne Particulate Matter: Do We Know Enough To Consider Regulating Specific Particle Types Or Sources?." Inhalation Toxicology 19.6-7 (2007): 457-481. Academic Search Premier. Web. 25 Sept. 2013.
     
    Gwynne, Kristen. "Turning The Tide On Drug Reform." Nation 296.7 (2013): 22-24. Academic Search Premier. Web. 20 Sept. 2013.

     

    Your Course Facilitator

    Marie Varelas's picture
    Marie Varelas
    Contact:
    Cañada College Library
    Building 9
    (650) 306-3480

    Suggested Key Terms For Your Topics

    Immigration

    immigration
    emigration
    immigration reform
    immigrants
    immigration bill
    immigration debate
    immigration and citizenship
    illegal immigration

     

    Regulating Substances

    controlled substance
    decriminalization
    drug laws
    drug safety
    drug legalization
    marijuana
    marijuana legalization
    medical marijuana
    regulation and substances