Skip to main content

ENGL 100 Freyberg Human Rights: Articles

Databases at Cañada College

Databases are collections of online articles from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers.  Some databases cover particular subjects -- such as Literature or History -- and some databases cover many different subjects.

See the full list of Cañada College Databases

When using the databases from off campus you will need to log-in using your Library Card Number and PIN (the last 4 digits of your phone number).

You can also search across multiple databases using Super Search.  Super Search includes many of our database, but excludes some important ones such as JSTOR and CQ Researcher. 

Please find a list of recommended databases below for your human rights research topics:

Gale Virtual Reference Library Database

Academic Search Premier Database

Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center Database

What is a Scholarly Article?

Scholarly articles are written by experts in the field and, additionally, reviewed by a panel experts in the field.  They tend to include a lot of research and data, and the information in the article is backed up by a list of references.

Botany Journal Cover

Popular articles are often written by journalists for a general audience and are not reviewed by experts in the field.  Popular articles rarely include references.

People Magazine Cover

For more detailed information on what a scholarly article looks like, see the excellent tutorial Anatomy of a Scholarly Article.

CountryWatch Database

CountryWatch provides up-to-date news and information on each of the recognized countries of the world.

Ethnic NewsWatch Database

JSTOR Database

JSTOR

Newspaper Source Plus Database