LING 200 Harmon

The National Geographic's Enduring Voices Project conducted in collaboration with the Living Tongues Institute for Endangered Languages strives to preserve endangered languages by identifying places on our planet where indigenous languages are threatened adn documenting the languages and cultures within them. 

"Every 14 days a language dies. By 2100, more than half of the more than 7,000 languages spoken on Earth—many of them not yet recorded—may disappear, taking with them a wealth of knowledge about history, culture, the natural environment, and the human brain"

--National Geographic's Enduring Voices Project

Marie's Dictionary from Go Project Films on Vimeo.

• AIATSIS: Collections Overview

  The Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies holds "the world's largest collection dedicated to Australian Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander cultures and histories".
• AILLA: The Archive of the Indigenous Languages of Latin America

  "A digital archive of recordings and texts in and about the indigenous languages of Latin America. Access to archive resources is free of charge. Most of the resources in the AILLA database are available to the public, but some have special access restrictions."
• California Language Archive

  "A catalog and online archive of the indigenous languages of California, western North America, and the Americas. A collaboration between the Survey of California and Other Indian Languages and the Berkeley Language Center (BLC), both archives at the University of California, Berkeley."
• Collections Division, Native American Languages, Sam Noble Museum, University of Oklahoma

  "A resource center for researchers, educators, and language advocates of Native American languages. Begun in 2002, it consists of a growing number of audio and video recordings, manuscripts, books, and teaching curriculum, lesson plans and materials representing over 72 languages."

  Rosetta Project

  The Rosetta Project is a global collaboration of language specialists and native speakers building a publicly accessible online archive of ALL documented human languages.

  SCOIL: Survey of California and Other Indian Languages

  "A research center in the Department of Linguistics, University of California, Berkeley, supporting the documentation, study, and revitalization of the indigenous languages of California and the Americas."