Skip to main content

Art & Art History : Articles

A delightful guide to Art and Art History research and resources available at the Cañada College library.

Using Library Databases to Find Articles

On this page you will find a sampling of Library databases suggested for Art & Art History topics. You can access them via their individual boxes on this page or from the Articles Tab on the Library's homepage.

Don't forget the Librarians are always here to help you navigate and search the databases to find credible sources for all your research needs. 

Gale Virtual Reference Library Database

Gale Virtual Reference Library contains keyword searchable reference sources. Good starting point; get an overview of a topic and identify some keywords you can use to search for articles. In this database, you will find:

  • encyclopedias
  • dictionaries
  • almanacs
  • yearbooks
  • directories

Ask a librarian or go here for questions about using this database.

Academic Search Premier Database

 

Academic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary database and thus can be used to find information on research paper topics for any of your classes at Cañada College. This database includes:

  • Newspaper articles
  • Magazine articles
  • Academic journal articles
  • Images
  • Reports

JSTOR Database

JSTOR includes over one thousand high-quality academic journals across the sciences, humanities, social sciences, arts and economics/business.
 
To search the journals in a specific discipline (example, biology):


 •Go to Advanced Search
 •Scroll down to  Discipline(s) and/or Title(s):
 •Check the box for that discipline (example: Biological Sciences)

Ask a librarian or go here for questions about using this database.

Off Campus Access

ACCESSING DATABASES REMOTELY 

To access the databases off campus, you must login with you library card and PIN number. Your PIN number is normally that last four digits of your phone number.

Biography in Context Database


Biography in Context provides biographical overview of prominent and celebrated people -- both current and historic from all eras and occupations -- in society. You can use Person Search to combine different criteria (for example, ethnicity and occupation) to create a highly-focused search. In this database, you will find:

  • Encyclopedia (reference) entries
  • Newspaper Articles
  • Magazine Articles
  • Academic Journal Articles
  • Images
  • Media
  • Recommended Websites

View the tutorial on how to conduct a basic search here. 

Super Search