Skip to main content

BIOL 130: Finding Articles

A research guide for researching databases for research related to professor Walsh's Current Issues Project in Biology.

Anatomy of a Scholarly Article

From Defiance College

What is a Scholarly Article?

Scholarly articles are written by experts in the field and, additionally, peer reviewed by a panel experts in the field.  They tend to include a lot of research and data, and the information in the article is backed up by a list of references. 

Example of a Journal with Scholarly Articles

American Journal of Economics and Sociology

Popular articles are often written by journalists for a general audience and are not reviewed by experts in the field.  Popular articles rarely include references.

Example of a Magazine with Popular Articles

cover of people magazine with a picture of justin bieber

 

Research Databases

Library Databases are collections of articles from magazines, academic/scholarly journals, newspapers, e-books and more.

Use Databases A-Z list on Library's Homepage, under Articles tab to access the following databases useful for your research:

General Databases

Pro/Con Databases (full-text access)

Science Databases (full-text access)

On the Web

  • PubMed- The National Library of Medicine's large biomedical and clinical medicine database. Includes: biomedical literature, life science journals, ebooks and more. Many articles available for free.

 

NOTE: To access any of Cañada Library's Databases, like ProQuest Science, you will need go to the library's homepage and select the Articles tab. Once selected, click on the database name you would like to access from the Browse Databases From A-Z pull down menu.

Open Access Scholarly Journal Articles

How to Read a Scientific Article

Scientific articles are often challenging to read. Here's a great article about how to read and understand a scientific journal article:

"How to Read and Understand a Scientific Journal Article" by Anthropology professor Jennifer Raff

How to Get Full-Text from PubMed

Many articles are available for free:

  • Use the filter sidebar and click the Free full text available link to narrow your results to resources that are available for free on the web.
  • Some publishers will provide free access to articles after you have registered as a guest.
  • Contact the Library to see if we have a journal article in our collections.