Skip to main content

PLSC 310 Parks: Find Articles

Accessing Databases


Accessing Databases

To access any of Cañada Library's Databases, like Opposing Viewpoints, you will need go to the library's homepage and select the Articles tab. Once selected, click on the database name you would like to access from the Browse Databases From A-Z pull down menu

Gale Virtual Reference Library Database

Academic Search Premier Database


Academic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary database and thus can be used to find information on research paper topics for any of your classes at Cañada College. This database includes:

  • Newspaper articles
  • Magazine articles
  • Academic journal articles
  • Images
  • Reports

View the tutorial on how to conduct a basic search in ASP here!

List of Databases

The library has many more databases than listed on this page. Depending on your research topic, you might find more informational sources in our other databases. Click here for a list of our databases.

Accessing Databases


If you are off campus, you will need to log in with your library card number and pin (last for digits of your phone number).

Newspaper Source Plus Database

JSTOR Database


Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center Database

Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center focuses on controversial issues; overviews; conflicting viewpoints; articles are mainly from popular sources. In this database you will find:

  • Viewpoint articles
  • Topic overviews
  • Statistics
  • Biographies
  • Primary documents
  • Images and podcasts
  • Court cases
  • Profiles of agencies and groups
  • Academic journal articles
  • Newspaper and magazine articles
  • Links to relevant/reviewed websites
  • A Merriam-Webster Collegiate dictionary

View the tutorial on how to conduct a search in this database here!

Super Search