Skip to main content

ENGL 165 Clay: Databases

Access Science database

CQ Researcher Database

Gale Virtual Reference Library Database

Kanopy movie and video database

Accessing databases off-campus

To access databases off-campus, log in with your library card and PIN number, usually the last four digits of your phone number.

A library card from any of the 35 Peninsula Library System libraries, which includes all 32 public libraries in San Mateo County as well as the three college libraries, will give you off-campus access to college library resources.

Don't have a library card? Come to the library Circulation Desk with a student ID or California Driver's License to fill out a form for a library account.

Finding articles in databases

To access Cañada Library's Databases, like Opposing Viewpoints, go to the library's homepage and select the Articles tab. Then click on the database name you would like to access from the Browse Databases From A-Z pull down menu.

If you are off campus, you will need to log in with your library card number and PIN, which is set as the last for digits of your phone number.

Finding the right keywords and search terms

A successful database search depends on experimenting and trying different terms that retrieve enough articles for your research. What is "enough" can change from assignment to assignment. If you need to cite three to five articles in your paper, you will want to retrieve 12 to 15 articles to read. Finding articles on your topic to support your thesis relies on discovering the term scholars use.

For instance, if you are seeking articles on environmental issues and climate change in the Access Science database, or more specifically plastic refuse in our oceans, try a few terms to see which nets you enough results. If you enter "plastic refuse", you will discover that the widely used term is "plastic waste pollution." Maybe you already have a topic in mind, such as

  • bee colony collapse disorder
  • dam removal
  • glacier
  • global climate change
  • plastic waste pollution
  • wildfire impact

If you have an idea but have not yet found the term, try adding these words to your search:

  • die-off (of a plant or animal species)
  • effects of (dam removal)
  • impact on (air or water quality)
  • (forest, ocean, soil) health

Newspaper Source Plus Database

Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center Database

Super Search