Skip to main content

Dance: Articles

Provides links and library resources in the field of dance. By librarian, and ballet dancer, Gareth Scott

Databases at Cañada College

Databases are collections of online articles from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers.  When using the databases from off campus you will need to log-in using your Library Card Number and PIN (the last 4 digits of your phone number).

See the full list of Cañada College Databases

On this page you can  also find selected databases that should be useful for finding information on Dance topics.

Try searching with these key words:

  • african american dance
  • ballet
  • belly dance
  • break dancing
  • dance
  • folk dancing
  • hip-hop AND dance 
    (hip-hop on it's own will also bring up all the music-related materials)
  • jazz dance
  • modern dance
  • swing dance

Dance Research Journal

Gale Virtual Reference Library Database

Academic Search Complete Database

Biography in Context Database

Biography in Context provides biographical overview of prominent and celebrated people -- both current and historic from all eras and occupations -- in society. You can use Person Search to combine different criteria (for example, ethnicity and occupation) to create a highly-focused search. In this database, you will find:

  • Encyclopedia (reference) entries
  • Newspaper Articles
  • Magazine Articles
  • Academic Journal Articles
  • Images
  • Media
  • Recommended Websites

View the tutorial on how to conduct a basic search here. 

JSTOR Database


America: History & Life Database

Newspaper Source Plus Database