Skip to main content

Dance: MLA Citation

Provides links and library resources in the field of dance. By librarian, and ballet dancer, Gareth Scott

Sample MLA Paper

Click here for a sample research paper.

More Questions? MLA Resources

Diana Hacker's MLA Style:  English and Other Humanities has extensive information on in-text citation and creating a works cited list.

The Purdue OWL MLA Formattting and Style Guide is another helpful resource for MLA citation. This page provides information about citing (giving credit for any quotes, facts, paraphrases, or summaries in your paper). Check here for help with your works cited page (bibliography page).

Easybib:  enter information about your book, article, or website and Easybib will create a citation.

MLA Format: Works Cited

When you use outside sources, you will need to create a works cited list that tells your reader all the information they need to find the source themselves if they want to.


See the examples below of commonly used resources.


For more information about creating a works cited list, see Diana Hacker.  There you will find examples of how to cite many different types of sources.

Print Books: MLA



Last Name, First Name. Title of Book. City of publication: Publisher, Date of publication.       Format.



Gardner, Howard.  Five Minds for the Future.  Boston: Harvard Business School Press, 2006.       Print.


Pictorial Example



eBooks: MLA


Last Name, First Name. Title of Book. City Published: Publisher, Year Published.       Database. Format. Date accessed.


Kronenfeld, Jennie J. Access To Care And Factors That Impact Access, Patients As Partners In       Care And Changing Roles Of Health Providers. Bingley: Emerald Book Serials and       Monographs, 2011. eBook Academic Collection (EBSCOhost). Web. 17 Dec. 2012.

Pictorial Example

Articles from the Library Databases: MLA


Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article." Title of Journal Vol. Number.Issue Number (Year): Page
      numbers. Title of Database. Format. Date accessed.


Kereluik, Kristen, et al. "What Knowledge is of Most Worth: Teacher Knowledge for 21st Century Learning." Journal of Digital Learning in Teacher Education 29.4 (2013): 127-140. General OneFile. Web. 10 Dec. 2014.

Pictorial Example



MLA Website Format


Author Last Name, First Name [if avaliable] Title of Website. Sponsor of Site. Date Updated.       Format. Date of Access.


"History of Project Zero."  Project Zero.  School of Education, Harvard University.  2010.  Web.  15       Apr. 2010.


Pictorial Example



Images: MLA

General Guidelines

1) Author/Creator. Not available?  Skip to #2.
2) Title of image in italics. Not available?  Image doesn’t have a title? Create brief descriptive title. (Photograph of horse running. Drawing of brain.) 
3) Media of the image (Chart,Diagram,Graph, Illustration, Map, Photograph, Cartoon)
4) Date of image. Not available? n.d.
5) Title of where the image is located. Title of web page or title of article found in database.
6)  Website/database name of where image is located
7) Medium of publication. If online – Web. If in paper, Print. 
8) If Web, then end with day of access, month and year.  01 Jan. 2011.
9) Always end with a period. There is no retrieval URL in 7th edition MLA unless requested by Professor.


Pictorial Example

For additional image citation examples and information see the MLA - Images Tab featured on the Art & Art History LibGuide

  MLA Format: In-Text Citation

When you use outside sources, you want to 1)  introduce them to the reader, 2) indicate a page number when applicable, and 3) show how this quote relates to what you are trying to say.

According to Howard Gardner the synthesizing mind is important for "selecting crucial information from the copious amounts of information available" (154).  In my experience it is difficult to know which information is crucial.


Longer quotes should be indented.

Howard Gardner argues that schools should cultivate all 5 minds for the future:

It is up to the educational system as a whole -- the educational systems in the broadest sense -- to ensure that the ensemble of minds is cultivated.  In one sense, this is a job of synthesis--making sure that all five kinds of minds are developed.  But equally, it is an ethical obligation:  in the years ahead, societies will not survive--let along thrive--unless as citizens we respect and culitvat ethe quintet of minds valorized here.  (165)


It is important to not emphasize too much one mind over the other, but the different qualities they bring and how they work together.


For more information about in-text citation, see Diana Hacker.