Skip to main content

Business Research: Company Information

A guide to business research at Cañada College Library

Company Research

Places to Start Company Research

  1. Company's website- look for the mission, vision, 10K report, and media/news/press releases.
  2. Recommended Library Databases listed in the Company Profiles box, Business Insights, Business Source Premier.
  3. Information on public companies is readily available than on  private companies or subsidiaries.

 

 

 

Company Profiles

The library has subscriptions to various databases which contain company and industry information. Try the following databases for company profiles and financials.  

Business Insights: Global  

Detailed company and industry profiles, including SWOT reports, market share reports, rankings, investment reports, scholar articles, news, financial data, and case studies. Select “industry” from drop down menu and use keywords related to your industry to locate industry reports.Search by company name for a detailed company profile.

 

Business Source Elite 

Includes profiles for more than 10,000 companies worldwide. Also provides full-text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, finance, and economics. Click on "Company Profiles" link at the top of the page, takes you to a collection of MarketLine Reports which provide you with Company Profiles, Industry Profiles, and SWOT Analysis.

 

NOTE: MarketLine Reports --  Company Profiles, Industry Profiles, and SWOT Analyses -- are available in the Business Source Elite  database.

 

SEC Filings and Annual Reports

SEC filings are useful in  understanding corporate structure, management strategy, challenges, sales targets, declines in stock valuation and much more. These are the primary sources of most financial research since they represent the required disclosures needed for a company to trade stock on a public exchange.

Useful SEC Filings

The 10-K/Q have the most detail about a company's finances

Company Financials on Web

Useful websites for current company financials: 

Stock Prices

Journal and News Articles

Articles, trade journals, and news sources can be great sources when doing business research. Check out the following library databases that specialize in articles related to business topics.

  • Business Insights Global- access to thousands of scholarly trade and industry publications, case studies, country profiles, etc.
  • Business Source Elite- contains full text scholarly journals in all business disciplines.Scroll down to "Company name-entity" and enter company name. Click on "Source Types" in the left column to limit your results to academic journals, trade publications or magazines, etc.
  • Lexis-Nexis Academic (via Skyline library onsite, or if Skyline student)- provides a wealth of information on public and private companies.The business section includes full-text of company profiles from Hoover's, SEC filings, accounting and finance journals etc.