Skip to main content

ECE 263: Find Articles

Research guide for finding journal articles and other information on teaching children with special needs.

Finding Articles: Databases

Looking for articles on topics in ECE?   Databases include articles from a variety of journals, and they are a great place to start. Type in a few keywords and see what kinds of articles you find.

If you are working from off campus, you will have to enter your library card number (on the back of your library card) and PIN number (the last four numbers of your phone number) to access these databases. 

Please stop by the reference desk or call  (306-3267) if you have any trouble!

Why Use Research Databases to Find Academic Articles?

Library Databases are collections of articles from magazines, academic/scholarly journals, newspapers, e-books and more.

The most efficient way to find a full text article is to use an online database.

Why should you do research in academic journals?

Academic journal articles are often authored by scholars active in a particular field

Academic journal articles provide a close look at a particular topic

Academic journal articles often provide data to support their findings

Academic journal articles can lead readers to other sources through their bibliographies

If you find one good article that supports your research, you can use the bibliography at the end of the paper to locate further research, which saves you time!




Recommended Databases for Research in Early Childhood Education

The library databases listed below are good starting points to find research articles in Early Childhood Education:

  • A multidisciplinary database indexing Linguistic Review, Linguistic Typology, Linguistica Espanola Actual, Language Acquisition, Language Awareness, and many others. You can limit to scholarly resources by clicking the option box on the search screen interface
  • ERIC 

    ERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center sponsored by the U.S. Dept. of Education, provides access to education literature and resources, giving full text of more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information, citations and abstracts from over 1,000 educational and education-related journals.


ERIC database Tutorial

What is a Scholarly Article?

Scholarly articles are written by experts in the field and reviewed by a panel of other experts in the field.  These articles are also called peer-reviewed or academic articles. They tend to include a lot of research and data, and the information in the article is backed up by a list of references at the end of the article.

Example of a Journal with Scholarly Articles


Popular articles are often written by journalists for a general audience and are not reviewed by experts in the field.  Popular articles rarely include references.

Example of a Magazine with Popular Articles


For more detailed information on what a scholarly article looks like, see the excellent tutorial Anatomy of a Scholarly Article.