Skip to main content

Study Abroad: About your Destination

Pre-Research

You'll want to spend some time researching your city and country before you decide to study abroad.

Use the Library Catalog to look for books. Continue with the library article and video databases recommended below.

Don't forget to Ask a Librarian if you need help!

Books: Barcelona

Books: Florence

Books: London

Pre-Research: Use Library Databases to Find Articles & Watch Films about your Destination

1. CountryWatch is an easy to use database for finding up to date information and historical information about the country you plan to visit.

First, select the "Country Reviews" tab. Next, use the pull down menu to select your Country.

2. Films on Demand gives you access to academic quality streaming video on a wide range of topics. Simply input the name of a city or country in the search box below, and select from hundreds of films or clips. 

For example:

3. World History in Context allows to research your Country's past in an easy to read (email or print) fashion.

World History In Context

World History in Context moves chronologically over 5,000 years from antiquity to the present and geographically around the globe, to ensure that the events, movements and individuals that defined, informed and shaped world history are covered with a sense of balance. In this database you will find: Reference articles from encyclopedias and compendiums, journal articles, magazine articles, maps and images, primary documents, video and audio selections from archival newsreels to NPR.

4. Newspaper Source Plus

Lastly, Newspaper Source Plus database gives you access to international news and allows you to search more than 1,000 full-text newspapers.
 
Tip: From off-campus, you'll need your library card number and pin number (last 4 numbers of your phone number) to access these databases!
 
Don't forget to Ask a Librarian if you need help!