Skip to main content

HSCI 100:Behonick: Finding Articles

Starting point for your research for HSCI 100 - General Health Science

Anatomy of a Scholarly Article

What is a Scholarly Article?

Scholarly articles are written by experts in the field and, additionally, peer reviewed by a panel experts in the field.  They tend to include a lot of research and data, and the information in the article is backed up by a list of references. 

Example of a Journal with Scholarly Articles

American Journal of Economics and Sociology

Popular articles are often written by journalists for a general audience and are not reviewed by experts in the field.  Popular articles rarely include references.

Example of a Magazine with Popular Articles

cover of people magazine with a picture of justin bieber

 

Research Databases

Library Databases are collections of articles from magazines, academic/scholarly journals, newspapers, e-books and more.

Use Databases A-Z list on Library's Homepage, under Articles tab to access the following databases useful for your research:

Encyclopedia Database 

General (multi-subject) Database

Pro/Con Databases

Health Science Databases

Statistics

On the Web

  • PubMed- From the National Library of Medicine. Search scholarly peer-reviewed articles in public health, health education, and many other medical & health disciplines.  Many articles available for free.

NOTE: To access any of Cañada Library's Databases  you will need go to the library's homepage and select the Articles tab. Once selected, click on the database name you would like to access from the Browse Databases From A-Z pull down menu.

Current Events and Controversial Issues

How to Read a Scientific Article

Scientific articles are often difficult to read. Here's a great article on how to read and understand a scientific journal article:

How to Read and Understand a Scientific Journal Article by Jennifer Raff

How to Get Full-Text from PubMed

Many articles are available for free:

  • Use the filter sidebar and click the Free full text available link to narrow your results to resources that are available for free on the web.
  • Some publishers will provide free access to articles after you have registered as a guest.
  • Contact the Library to see if we have a journal article in our collections.

CQ Researcher Database