Skip to main content

ENGL 847 Valenzuela - Civil Rights Movement: Activity

Library Assignment

Today we will be reviewing databases to find at least two sources from research articles for your Essay 2 on Civil Rights, Equality, or Social Justice Issues.

1. Gale Virtual Reference Library This is a wonderful database for brainstorming a If you are looking for encyclopedias to get a better understanding of your topic, try searching in Gale Virtual Reference.  Send yourself at least one sources.

2. American History & Life History and Life with Full Text is an excellent database for finding information on the history and culture of the United States and Canada. Search for your topic in this database and send yourself at least one article to yourself by e-mail.

3. History In Context U.S. History in Context provides a complete overview of U.S. history that covers the most-studied events, issues and current information. 

4. Ethnic NewsWatch is a current database that includes newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press. Look for at least one source that match your topic and send them to yourself by e-mail. Note the MLA citation.

*Be sure you have MLA citations for all of your sources

*Write down some of the keywords you are learning about while doing your research. This will help you when you are searching other databases.

Essay 2 ENGL 847 Assignment

Assignment

 Relevant Civil Rights, Equality and Overall Social Justice Issues/Topics:

 

   -Education (Access to Education)

   -Racial Equality (Black Lives Matter, Racial profiling, )

   -Education (Access to Education)

   -Health Care (Affordable Care Act)

   -Gay Rights

   -Minority Rights (Immigration and deportation, Farm Workers, DACA)

   -Gender Equality (Women's rights, Equal pay for women)

   -Religious Rights