Skip to main content

English 100: Clay: Finding Articles

Research guide to selected resources on Climate Change/Global Warming

Anatomy of a Scholarly Article

What is a Scholarly Article?

Scholarly articles are written by experts in the field and, additionally, peer reviewed by a panel experts in the field.  They tend to include a lot of research and data, and the information in the article is backed up by a list of references. 

Example of a Journal with Scholarly Articles

American Journal of Economics and Sociology

Popular articles are often written by journalists for a general audience and are not reviewed by experts in the field.  Popular articles rarely include references.

Example of a Magazine with Popular Articles

cover of people magazine with a picture of justin bieber

 

Key Databases

Library Databases are collections of articles from magazines, academic/scholarly journals, newspapers, e-books and more.

Climate change issues are being discussed across many, many disciplines. Here are a few databases you can use:

General (multi-subject) Databases

Pro/Con Databases

Subject Specific  Databases

  • GreenFILE
  • Proquest Science Journals

 

NOTE: To access any of Cañada Library's Databases  you will need go to the library's homepage and select the Articles tab. Once selected, click on the database name you would like to access from the Browse Databases From A-Z pull down menu.

News Sources

Global Warming- Science - The New York Times

Articles from the New York Times, ranging from up-to-the-minute news on the topic to older, in-depth articles.

Nature Reports Climate Change

Ceased publication in May 2010, but still useful resource for news and content from the important journal, Nature.

NPR : Climate Connections

Stories, podcasts and other media

BBC | Climate Change

British Broadcasting Corporation portal for global warming news coverage, with lots of multimedia options and RSS feeds.

Search by State Site

Go directly to the websites of those responsible:

  • Counties
  • States
  • Countries

For example: California Climate Change State site