Skip to main content

ESL 924 Carey: Databases: Find Articles

Definition: Database

What is a database?

A database is an online collection of resources. Databases often contain articles from newspapers, magazines and academic journals, but can also contain reference sources, books, reports and a variety of other resources. To find relevant information in a database, you will need to conduct keyword searches.

Student Resources in Context

How Can We Help You?

Welcome to the Cañada College Library!  We can help you find information for your class assignments from many different sources, including Books, Articles, and Websites.

Websitehttp://www.canadacollege.edu/library

Ask a Librarian

Ask a Librarian any questions about doing research, finding information, and citing sources.

Research Appointment

Need help with your works cited or research paper? Make an appointment with one of our librarians.

Hours

  • Monday-Thursday:  8 a.m.-9 p.m.
  • Fridays: 8 a.m.-3 p.m.
  • Saturdays: 10 a.m.-2 p.m.

Accessing Databases

To access any of Cañada Library's Databases, like Opposing Viewpoints, you will need go to the library's homepage and select the Articles tab. Once selected, click on the database name you would like to access from the Browse Databases From A-Z pull down menu. 

Recommended Database: Opposing Viewpoints

 

Opposing Viewpoints is a controvercial topics database. This is an excellent database for exploring a "hot topic" issue like social media. In this database, you will find:

 

  • Encyclopedia (reference) entries
  • Newspaper Articles
  • Magazine Articles
  • Academic Journal Articles
  • Viewpoint Essays
  • Statistics
  • Images
  • Media
  • Recommended Websites

Academic Search Complete