Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Scientific Research Online
When you're looking for scientific articles from the Library, you can
1. Browse a specific online journal like those listed in the next box, "Top Journals for Biology."
2. You can also use keywords representing your topic to search a specialized library article database for science, such as:
- Access Science (start here for overviews & background research)
- ProQuest Science Journals Database
- Science in Context
- PubMed (citations and some full text articles) or PMC:PubMed Central (full text only)
- Health Source
- Links for each database appear below
3. Not sure which database to use? Ask a Librarian!
Make a Research Appointment for more help.
AccessScience is an authoritative and dynamic online resource that contains incisively written, high-quality reference material that covers all major scientific disciplines. An award-winning gateway to scientific knowledge, it offers links to primary research material, videos and exclusive animations, plus specially designed curriculum maps for teachers. With these and other online features, AccessScience is continually expanding the ways it can demonstrate and explain core, trustworthy scientific information in a way that inspires and guides users to deeper knowledge.
Science in Context
Science in Context
Gale In Context: Science is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. The solution merges Gale's authoritative and continuously updated reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
Medline provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, this resource is primarily a citation database with some full text articles available. This database includes: academic journal articles, magazine articles, government reports, professional (trade) magazine articles
Top Journals for BIOL 230
ProQuest Science Journals Database
ProQuest Natural Science Collection
ProQuest Natural Science Collection is a definitive resource for students studying both the applied and general sciences. It includes nearly 1,000 science journals, many peer-reviewed, in the areas of Physics, Astronomy, Biology, Earth Science and Chemistry. This database includes academic journal articles, professional (trade) articles, magazine articles, newspaper articles, images including charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, and photos.
PubMed comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition database
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides information on many health topics with a strong focus on nursing and allied health articles. This database includes scholarly journal articles, magazine articles, and trade publication articles.