LibGuides: Alcohol Industry: Wine

Britannica

Wine

Wine, the fermented juice of the grape. Of the grape genus Vitis, one species, V. vinifera (often erroneously called the European grape), is used almost exclusively. Beverages produced from V. labrusca, the native American grape, and from other grape species are also considered wines. When other fruits are fermented to produce a kind of wine, the name of the fruit is included, as in the terms peach wine and blackberry wine.

References
Amerine, M. A. (n.d.). wine. Encyclopedia Britannica. https://www.britannica.com/topic/wine. Accessed 23 June 2022.

Champagne

champagne, classic sparkling wine named for the site of its origin and exclusive production, the traditional region of Champagne in northeastern France. The term champagne is also applied generically, with restrictions, outside France, to many white or rosé wines that are characterized by effervescence. In the United States, sparkling wines made in a similar manner are designated first by place of origin, as in New York state champagne. Similar wines from Spain and elsewhere are often called “champagne-style.”

The region that produces champagne includes certain parishes in the départements of Marne, Aisne, Seine-et-Marne, Aube, and Haute-Marne. The best champagne comes from vineyards along the Marne River from Château-Thierry eastward to Épernay and on the plain from Épernay stretching north to Reims, which is dominated by a hill called the Montagne de Reims. Champagne is made from only three grapes: pinot and meunier, both black, and chardonnay, white. Characteristic of champagne is a crisp, flinty taste, sometimes ascribed to the chalky soil. A small amount made from green grapes only is called blanc des blancs. Pink champagne is made by adding a little red wine, or by leaving the crushed grapes in contact with their skins for a time.

References
Britannica, T. Editors of Encyclopaedia (n.d.). champagne. Encyclopedia Britannica. https://www.britannica.com/topic/champagne-alcoholic-beverage Accessed on 23 June 2022.

Gale eBooks

Wine - Encyclopedia of Products & Industries - Manufacturing (Vol. 2)
Wine, one of the oldest products enjoyed by humankind, has been a part of civilization dating back to before the Bronze Age. In the United States, however, the passage of the Prohibition Act of 1919, also known as the Volstead Act, nearly destroyed the industry. While a few wineries survived by making medicinal and sacramental wines, production dropped 94 percent between 1919 and 1925. Even after the repeal of Prohibition, recovery of the industry was slow. Before 1920 there were more than 2,500 commercial wineries in the United States. Fewer than 100 survived Prohibition, and by 1960, the number of commercial wineries had grown to only 271.
Wine Industry - Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture(Vol. 6. 2nd ed.)
An appetite for the fruit of the vine accompanied the Spanish flag and the cross to the Americas. Spanish conquistadores, settlers, and friars preferred wine to the fermented beverages of Amerindians. Reproduction of Iberian secular and religious culture in the New World meant transplantation of viticulture. Sanctification of religious rituals required wine, and missionaries carried vine cultivation and wine production to all corners of the Spanish and Portuguese colonies. Wine was also a staple of the "civilized class" (gente decente), which ensured wine imports and eventually the establishment of private vineyards and wineries.

eBooks

Global Wine Markets, 1860 to 2016: A Statistical Compendium by Anderson, Kym ; Nelgen, Signe ; Pinilla, Vicente
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781925261660
Publication Date: 2017
Until recently, most grape-based wine was consumed close to where it was produced, and mostly that was in Europe. The latest globalization wave has changed that forever. Now more than two-fifths of all wine consumed globally is produced in another country. Europe's dominance of global wine trade has been diminished by the surge of exports from the Southern Hemisphere and the United States. Asia has emerged as an important consuming region, and in China that has stimulated the development of local production that, in volume terms, already rivals that of Argentina, Australia, Chile and South Africa. This latest edition of global wine statistics not only updates data to 2016 but also adds another century of data. The motivation to assemble those historical data was to enable comparisons between the current and the previous globalization waves. This unique database reveals that, even though Europe's vineyards were devastated by vine diseases and the pest phylloxera from the 1860s, most 'New World' countries remained net importers of wine until late in the nineteenth century. Some of the world's leading wine economists and historians have contributed to and drawn on this database to examine the development of national wine market developments before, during and in between the two waves of globalization. Their initial analyses cover all key wine-producing and -consuming countries using a common methodology to explain long-term trends and cycles in national wine production, consumption, and trade. They are available in Wine Globalization: A New Comparative History, edited by Kym Anderson and Vicente Pinilla (Cambridge University Press, February 2018).
Wine Economics by Castriota, Stefano ; Ashenfelter, Orley ; Turnbull, Judith
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780262361026
Publication Date: 2020
A comprehensive and interdisciplinary approach to the economics of the production, distribution, and consumption of wine. Wine economics is a growing subfield that examines the economics of the production, distribution, and consumption of wine. In this book, Stefano Castriota takes a comprehensive and interdisciplinary approach to the study of wine economics, drawing on literature from industrial organization, welfare economics, economic policy, political economy, management, finance, health economics, law, and criminology. Castriota explores how wine markets operate and how they are regulated, covering such diverse topics as the health economics of wine consumption (both the positive health effects associated with moderate wine intake and the negative effects of alcohol abuse), the competition and profitability of wineries, the function of wine as an investment, and the quality of wine. He examines differences between the wine industries in the Old World and the New World, comparing small, family-owned wineries with larger conglomerates, and analyzes the regulation of wine in the United States versus the European Union. He concludes with a series of recommendations to ensure open and efficient wine markets while protecting public health. Originally published in Italy as Economia del Vino, this English translation has been extensively revised. It includes additional material focusing on the English-speaking countries of the New World, particularly the regulatory environment of the United States and the lingering effects of Prohibition.

Alcohol Industry

Britannica

Wine

Champagne

Gale eBooks

eBooks

Wine Statistics