LibGuides: Cybersecurity: Databases

Searching the Databases

To search the Library databases for articles, the simplest place to start is by entering your keywords on OneSearch on the library homepage. These keywords and topics can be searched on the library databases and on Google for sources outside the library. As always, make sure to vet your sources.

Keywords – for exploring a this topic

Chatbots (or “bots”)	Phishing	Malware
Spam email	Computer virus	Password protection
Dual-factor authentication	Password manager	Ransomware
Decryption tool	ReCAPTCHA	Algorithm
Unsupervised learning	Cluster	Hackers
Scam	Antivirus software	Anti-malware software
Artificial Intelligence (AI)	Cybersecurity	Computer networks
The Internet	Cyber crime	Cloud computing

Gale eBooks

Artificial Intelligence - Encyclopedia of Emerging Industries (6th ed.)
Artificial intelligence (AI) refers to computer software that exhibits intelligent behavior. The term “intelligence” is difficult to define and has been the subject of heated debate by philosophers, educators, and psychologists for ages. Nevertheless, it is possible to enumerate many important characteristics of intelligent behavior. Intelligence includes the capacity to learn, maintain a large storehouse of knowledge, utilize commonsense reasoning, apply analytical abilities, discern relationships between facts, communicate ideas to others and understand communications from others, and perceive and make sense of the world around us. Thus, artificial intelligence systems are computer programs that exhibit one or more of these behaviors.
Cybersecurity - Privacy Rights in the Digital Age (2nd ed.)
Cybersecurity provides security against threats to data that resides on computer architecture, hardware, software and networks connecting in cyberspace. The Internet—also known as cyberspace or simply connecting online—has become a ubiquitous part of global world interconnectedness. The virtual world of cyberspace allows human activity to take place in the same manner as conducting life in the material world. Nation-states, governments, corporations, and individuals conduct daily activities online that once required personal human contact.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Opposing Viewpoints is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the solution features continuously updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.

Cybercrime
Cybercrime refers to illegal activity carried out with a computer or electronic device, including attacks on private and government computer networks as well as using a computer to target people or damage property. Common types of cybercrime include data theft, identity theft, unauthorized access, and cyberstalking. Cybercriminals may steal and profit from sensitive personal, business, or government information or disrupt business or government systems for political reasons. The costs associated with cybercrime worldwide have risen substantially in the twenty-first century. A 2020 report published by Cybersecurity Ventures projects that cybercrime will exact a toll of $6 trillion on the global economy in 2021, a figure the firm expects to climb to $10.5 trillion by 2025. In addition to the economic threat posed by cybercrime, the infiltration of government networks by cybercriminals, including sensitive assets such as missile systems and election protocols, can have significant national and global security implications.
Cybercrime is putting us on the cusp of a digital pandemic. Here's the way forward.
Are you ready for the next global crisis? Christopher Krebs, the former director of the Cybersecurity and Infrastructure Security Agency, said last month that we are already "on the cusp of a global digital pandemic." He was talking about the explosion of cybercrime. FBI Director Christopher A. Wray concurs, explaining that the dramatic rise of this new form of crime has shaken the U.S. security apparatus much like the 9/11 attacks did in 2001.

CQ Researcher

CQ Researcher

CQ Researcher includes current, hot topic reports providing unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.

Privacy and the Internet - Can massive data breaches be stopped?
Nearly 2 billion consumer records were stolen or accidentally exposed in the United States last year, including personal data on nearly half the U.S. population held by the Equifax credit agency. The data breaches raise questions about whether consumers’ information can be protected. Privacy advocates want lawmakers to adopt rules similar to those in Europe, which require consumer consent before companies can use or share data. Congress is considering bills that would penalize companies that conceal breaches and would educate consumers on how to better safeguard their data. But little action is expected because of disagreements over how much regulation is needed. Many Republicans warn that excessive regulation could harm online commerce, while most Democrats want greater business accountability. Technological developments make it more difficult to protect online privacy, while the rapid expansion of the Internet of Things — in which consumer devices are connected to the internet and sometimes each other — makes hacking easier and could lead to the surveillance of unwitting consumers.
Cyberwarfare - Can the U.S. and other democracies develop an effective defense?
Cyberwarfare has become a crucial battleground between nations. This largely hidden conflict, which has echoes of the Cold War struggle between Western democracies and communist nations, involves a range of activities: from online disinformation campaigns to the use of sophisticated computer worms to disrupt or commandeer government and commercial computer systems. Russia, the United States, China, Iran and other nations all have probed and hacked into other countries' computer systems. Some U.S. officials worry about a “cyber Pearl Harbor,” in which an enemy launches a surprise cyberattack to disable key public utilities such as the power grid. But other analysts believe the greater danger lies in the way Russia manipulated social media to spread disinformation and worsen political divisions in the 2016 U.S. election as it worked to boost the campaign of President Trump. U.S. intelligence officials say that Russia is at it again, and experts warn that new technologies such as 5G high-speed wireless and artificial intelligence make defending against cyberattacks even harder.
Cyberwarfare Threat - Do hackers pose a danger to national security?
The next major conflict between world powers may not begin at sea or along a disputed border, but in cyberspace. In the past decade, hackers have targeted voting systems in the United States, electrical grids in Ukraine, uranium enrichment facilities in Iran and hospitals, universities and major corporations around the world. The attacks have focused new attention on whether the United States is acting quickly enough to protect computer networks serving critical infrastructure, from military bases to power plants. Cybersecurity experts say companies holding sensitive data are particularly vulnerable to digital attacks, such as the recent hack of the Equifax credit reporting agency that potentially affects 145.5 million U.S. consumers. The United Nations is working to develop international rules for cyberwarfare, but the effort faces major hurdles, including deciding how even to define a cyberweapon. Allegations that Russia used social media to disrupt last year's presidential election are another focus of concern as the United States prepares for the 2018 congressional elections.
The 5G Revolution - Does the new wireless technology pose security risks?
5G, the fifth generation of cellular technology, promises to transform societies around the world by vastly expanding the number of devices connected in cyberspace and increasing the speed at which those devices communicate, experts say. But as the United States competes with China and other countries for dominance in developing 5G technology, new concerns are emerging about how to prevent cyberthieves and hostile foreign governments from stealing consumers' data or hacking and disabling critical infrastructure. Trump administration officials see Chinese technology giant Huawei, for example, as a potential security threat to 5G systems globally. The U.S. telecom industry and federal regulators promise 5G networks will be safe from cyberattack, but critics note that the administration already has repealed an Obama-era requirement designed to protect those networks. Other experts worry that the new technology — still years away for most Americans — will leave behind minority, low-income and rural customers, saying telecom companies will prioritize areas where they get the best return on 5G investments.
The Dark Web - Does identity-masking technology increase cybercrime?
Millions of people worldwide are using computer technology that allows them to visit websites, communicate with others and conduct business online without leaving a trace of their identity or location. That so-called anonymizing technology has created what experts call the Dark Web, a murky layer of the online world far less visible than the one accessible by Google and other common search engines. Proponents say the Dark Web's ability to mask identities helps protect dissidents in repressive regimes, allows police and military personnel to conduct covert operations and lets human rights activists report atrocities without risking reprisal. But critics say the Dark Web is a pathway for cybercrime, used by child pornographers, drug dealers and sex traffickers to hide their illegal dealings. Some law enforcement officials say the technology cripples their ability to catch criminals. But civil-liberties advocates counter that online anonymity is so valuable for good causes that it must not be curtailed.

Databases

Academic OneFile

Academic OneFile provides access to millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources in key subject areas such as biology, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, environmental science, history, marketing, political science, and psychology.
Academic Search Complete

Academic Search Complete is a multidisciplinary database and thus can be used to find information on research paper topics for any of your classes at Cañada College. This database includes newspaper articles, magazine articles, academic journal articles, images, and reports.
Access Science Encyclopedia

Access Science is an online encyclopedia that provides overview information on science topics. This database includes definitions, biographies, encyclopedia, articles, images, study guides, bibliographies.
Access Science Encyclopedia

Access Science is an online encyclopedia that provides overview information on science topics. This database includes definitions, biographies, encyclopedia, articles, images, study guides, bibliographies.
Business (Gale OneFile)

Gale OneFile: Business contains full-text coverage of all business disciplines, including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, and business theory and practice. Features leading business and trade publications, updated daily.
Business Source Elite

Business Source Elite provides full-text coverage of scholarly business, management and economics journals. This collection also includes publications covering topics such as accounting, banking, finance, international business, marketing, sales, etc. In this database you will find articles from 1,000 Business Publications, over 10,000 Company Profiles, and more.
Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO)

Communication & Mass Media Complete provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media. You can search numerous journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource of unprecedented scope and depth encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline. This database includes full text for over 450 journals.
Communications and Mass Media (Gale OneFile)

This database meets the needs of researchers with journal articles on all aspects of the communications field, including advertising, public relations, linguistics, and literature.
Computer Science (Gale OneFile)

Gale OneFile: Computer Science provides access to leading business and technical publications in the computer, telecommunications, and electronics industries. The database provides information on computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas like hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications, and the application of technology.
CQ Researcher

CQ Researcher includes current, hot topic reports providing unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
Criminal Justice (Gale OneFile)

Gale OneFile: Criminal Justice informs the research process for researchers who are studying law, law enforcement, or terrorism; training for paralegal service; preparing for a career in homeland security; delving into forensic science; investigating crime scenes; developing policy; going to court; writing sociological reports; and much more.
Entrepreneurship (Gale OneFile)

Gale OneFile: Entrepreneurship provides insights, tips, strategies, and success stories for business schools and entrepreneurs.
Films on Demand

Films on Demand is an online library of streaming educational videos, documentaries, and news videos covering a wide range of educational topics. These videos cover various subjects including, Anthropology, Nursing, History, Languages, etc. Videos include closed captioning and transcripts. Links to individual film titles and segments can be shared via Canvas, email or your personal website.
Business Insights

Business Insights is a unique source for international business intelligence offering the most comprehensive and convenient way to find case studies, in-depth statistical data coupled with deep research, and the ability to compare global economies, countries and industries.
Global Issues in Context

Features hundreds of continuously updated issue and country portals that bring together a variety of specially selected, relevant sources for analysis of these issues. Includes rich multimedia.
Issues and Controversies

Issues & Controversies offers extensive, exclusive, and objective analysis of hundreds of today’s hot topics and conflicts by presenting the key facts, arguments, history, and current context of today’s most important issues, along with a wealth of primary sources, videos, and relevant media coverage, making it an ideal resource for research papers, debate preparation, and persuasive writing assignments.
JSTOR

JSTOR includes over one thousand high-quality academic journals across the sciences, humanities, social sciences, arts and economics/business.
New York Times

Cañada College Library offers online New York Times accounts for all students, staff, and faculty. This includes unlimited access via mobile apps on tablets and smart phones. NYTimes.com accounts are good for one year for eligible Cañada College community members only (current students, staff, and faculty), after which accounts need to be renewed.

For more information check out our NYT guide https://guides.canadacollege.edu/newyorktimes
Newspaper Source Plus

Newspaper Source includes more than 1,000 full-text newspapers, providing more than 38 million full-text articles.
O'Reilly Learning (Safari Tech Books Online)

O'Reilly Learning (formally Safari Tech Books) contains eBooks, videos, learning paths, audio books, and more on the latest in technology and business trends.
OneSearch

Search most of the library databases, eBooks, physical collection, and open access resources all in one place. OneSearch provides simple, one-stop searching for books, videos, articles, digital media, and more.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Opposing Viewpoints is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the solution features continuously updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
Regional Business News

Regional Business News provides full text for nearly 100 regional U.S. and Canadian business publications. Use this database to find day-by-day accounts or local/regional perspectives of events that impact society.
Statista

Statista statistics on everything from business, politics, society, and more. Find statistics, infographics, industry reports, industry forecasts, and more!
Wall Street Journal

The Wall Street Journal is a news source that focuses on business issues but also includes articles on society, politics, and more. Cañada College Library has joined the Wall Street Journal in a collaboration that will provide students, faculty, and staff with direct access to the Journal. You can use your Cañada-sponsored WSJ membership to research topics relevant to your courses and careers, save and share pertinent articles with others, follow companies and industries that interest you, track real-time stories and trends, and follow coverage of arts, culture, and life.

For more information check out our Wall Street Journal FAQ Guide: https://guides.canadacollege.edu/wsj/FAQ