Company Research - Bus180 - Marketing - Ekhtiar

Getting Started with Company Research

Company's website (free)- Don't overlook information that can be found on a company's website such as company history, mission/vision statement (as available), 10-K/Annual Report (public companies), media/news/press releases. Check out "For Investors," "About Us," or similar links.
Annual Report - Public companies are required to file an annual report to the U.S. government, known as a 10-K. These reports will often include a section on the company's history.
Company profiles in library databases- Check out the Library's Business Databases for company and industry-related information.
Information on public companies is readily available than on private companies or subsidiaries.

Business Source Elite This link opens in a new window
Business Source Elite provides full-text coverage of scholarly business, management and economics journals. This collection also includes publications covering topics such as accounting, banking, finance, international business, marketing, sales, etc. In this database you will find articles from 1,000 Business Publications, over 10,000 Company Profiles, and more.
Business Insights This link opens in a new window
Business Insights is a unique source for international business intelligence offering the most comprehensive and convenient way to find case studies, in-depth statistical data coupled with deep research, and the ability to compare global economies, countries and industries.

NOTE: MarketLine Reports -- Company Profiles, Industry Profiles, and SWOT Analyses -- are available in the Business Source Elite database.

Data Axle Reference Solutions This link opens in a new window
Provides data on 102M Businesses and 312M Consumers.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista statistics on everything from business, politics, society, and more. Find statistics, infographics, industry reports, industry forecasts, and more!

EDGAR (from the SEC)
The SEC’s EDGAR database provides free public access to U.S. public company information, enabling research on a company’s financial information and operations by reviewing registration statements, prospectuses and periodic reports filed on Forms 10-K and 10-Q. On the left side of the page, select Company Filings Search.