Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
How to find academic articles in databases
When your assignment requires academic articles or sources, you'll want to know how to limit your search in a database so you can find them. These databases include thousands of publications ranging from academic journals to newspapers. One search for "bees" could retrieve over 30,000 articles. To find the articles from academic journals, also called scholarly or peer-reviewed journals, limit your searches by checking the boxes next to "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal" and "Full Text."
Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a multidisciplinary database and thus can be used to find information on research paper topics for any of your classes at Cañada College. This database includes newspaper articles, magazine articles, academic journal articles, images, and reports.
Biography in Context database
Biography in Context
Gale In Context: Biography is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on the world's most influential people. Biography merges Gale's authoritative reference content with periodicals and multimedia organized into a user-friendly portal experience while allowing users to search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender as well as keyword and full text.
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, covers all aspects of research about education, including journal articles, research syntheses, conference papers, technical reports, and policy papers
Health Source: Nursing Edition
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides information on many health topics with a strong focus on nursing and allied health articles. This database includes scholarly journal articles, magazine articles, and trade publication articles.
Meet the research needs of Spanish-speaking users with a wide range of full-text Spanish and Portuguese-language scholarly journals and magazines both from and about Latin America. Gale OneFile: Informe Académico provides quality reference material on an interface configured for Spanish speakers, allowing researchers to analyze topics and conduct research in Spanish.
Literature Resource Center
Literature Resource Center Full-text journal articles, literary criticism, reviews, biographical information, and overviews on over 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.
Click here to access Literature Resource Center from off-campus.
Natural Science Collection
ProQuest Natural Science Collection
ProQuest Natural Science Collection is a definitive resource for students studying both the applied and general sciences. It includes nearly 1,000 science journals, many peer-reviewed, in the areas of Physics, Astronomy, Biology, Earth Science and Chemistry. This database includes:
academic journal articles
professional (trade) magazine articles
images including charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, and photos