Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Primary Sources: Digital Collections

Finding Digital Collections for Research

Women Working: 1870-1930 (Harvard University Library)

Women Working: 1870-1930 (Harvard University Library)

 

Fully-digitized books, manuscripts, pamphlets, consumer trade catalogs and photographs exploring women's roles in the US economy between the Civil War and the Great Depression.

Documenting the American South [UNC]

Documenting the American South (University of North Carolina)

 

A collection of sources on Southern history, literature and culture from the colonial period through the first decades of the 20th century.

Exploring the California Gold Rush

Exploring the California Gold Rush (California State Library)

Selections from the Gold Rush era including maps, journal pages, letters, books, pamphlets, newspapers, artworks, photographs, sheet music, and more.

University of Groningen: American History

American History from Revolution to Reconstruction... (University of Groningen)

A collection of primary sources from American history organized by date.

logo with american flag that say American History

Speeches

Famous Speeches in History (History Channel)

John Steinbeck Wins Nobel Prize

Film clip, John Steinbeck Wins Nobel Prize (4:13)

Calisphere

Calisphere   (University of California)

A great place to find primary sources related to California.

Library of Congress

 

Digital Collections (Library of Congress)

A great place to find primary sources related to U.S. History. 

  National Archives

DocsTeach (National Archives)

A collection of thousands of primary source documents on topics such as the Revolution and the new nation, the Civil War and Reconstruction, the Great Depression and World War II, and other topics from the National Archives. 

Internet History Source Book: Modern History

Internet History Sourcebook: Modern History  A collection of primary sources from Forham University. Search by keyword or browse by subject.

Digital Public Library of America

DPLA Logo

Digital materials including primary sources from libraries, museums, and archives. Searchable by timeline, maps, and keyword. Also includes Primary Source Sets for wide variety of topics.

California Digital Newspaper Collection