Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
National Archives & Library of Congress
Teaching With Documents: Lesson Plans (National Archives)
This section contains reproducible copies of primary documents from the holdings of the National Archives of the United States, teaching activities correlated to the National History Standards and National Standards for Civics and Government, and cross-curricular connections.
The American Folklife Collections (Library of Congress)
The American Folklife Center was created in 1976 by the U.S. Congress to "preserve and present American folklife" through programs of research, documentation, archival preservation, reference service, live performance, exhibitions, publications, and training. Designated by the U.S. Congress as the national center for folklife documentation and research, the American Folklife Center continues to collect and document living traditional culture, while preserving for the future its unparalleled collections in the state-of-the-art preservation facilities of the Library of Congress.
Primary Sources by State (Library of Congress)
Using a clickable map interface, "The extensive collections at the Library of Congress contain historic artifacts and cultural materials from across the U.S."
United States Historical Documents
AMDOCS: Documents for the Study of American History
This site provides full text access to documents dating from the 15th century, on, arranged chronologically.
Exploring US History (University of Oklahoma)
A carefully curated hub for primary source documents by topic and era: Colonial Experience and Exploration, Revolutionary America and the Early Republic, Antebellum America, the Civil War, Native Americans, Slavery, Government documents, and more.
First-Person Narratives of the American South
"First-Person Narratives of the American South" is a collection of diaries, autobiographies, memoirs, travel accounts, and ex-slave narratives written by Southerners. The majority of materials in this collection are written by those Southerners whose voices were less prominent in their time, including African Americans, women, enlisted men, laborers, and Native Americans.
Spanish Colonial Diaries and Letters
The Memoirs of the Conquistador Bernal Diaz del Castillo, Vol 1 (of 2)
From Wikipedia: Historia verdadera de la conquista de la Nueva España is the first-person narrative of Bernal Díaz del Castillo (1492–1581), the 16th-century military adventurer, conquistador, and colonist settler, who served in three Mexican expeditions; those of Francisco Hernández de Córdoba (1517) to the Yucatán peninsula; the expedition of Juan de Grijalva (1518), and the expedition of Hernán Cortés (1517) in the Valley of Mexico; the history relates his participation in the fall of Emperor Moctezuma II, and the subsequent defeat of the Aztec empire.
Want more help?
Librarians can help you find information for your research from many different sources.
Visit the library in person, get help on the phone, or email a librarian.
We are located on the Cañada College campus at 4200 Farm Hill Boulevard in Redwood City.
You can find us on the top floor of Building 9, above the Learning Center.
You can also schedule a free appointment to meet with a librarian one-on-one.
Profile & Guides
Monday-Thursday, 8 a.m.-9 p.m.
Friday, 8 a.m.-3 p.m.
Saturday, 10 a.m.-2 p.m.