LibGuides: Primary Sources: Women in History

Books from the Library: Women's History

Do a subject search using the subject headings below to find primary sources in the Peninsula Library System Catalog.

For example:

These are examples of some of library books that include primary sources:

College Women
Documenting the History of Women in Higher Education. College Women is a searchable collection of diaries, letters, scrapbooks, and photographs from the archives of a select group of the earliest women’s colleges in the United States, the Seven Sisters.
Women's Suffrage
Library of Congress' Primary Sources set for Women's Suffrage, intended for classroom use and with resources.
Women Working, 1800–1930
A digital exploration of women's impact on the economic life of the United States between 1800 and the Great Depression. Working conditions, workplace regulations, home life, costs of living, commerce, recreation, health and hygiene, and social issues are among the issues documented in this online research collection from Harvard University.

Discovering American Women's History Online
Digital collections of primary sources including photos, letters, diaries, artifacts that document the history of women in the US. These diverse collections range from Ancestral Pueblo pottery to interviews with women engineers from the 1970s.
Primary Source Sets: Women
Small collections of photographs and other primary sources relating to women in American history by category, 1801-present, from the Digital Public Library of America (DPLA).
Women: Primary Source Collections Online
Women in the American Civil War

Women In World History
Browse more than 200 primary sources by region or try the advanced search.
Monastic Matrix
A scholarly resource for the study of women's religious communities from 400 to 1600 CE. Part of Ohio State University.
Epistolae: Medieval Women's Letters
Letters to and from women dating from the 4th to the 13th century AD. These letters from the Middle Ages, written in Latin, are presented with English translations and are organized by the women participating. Biographical sketches of the women and descriptions of the subject matter or the historic context of the letter is included where available. Part of Columbia Center for New Media Teaching and Learning, Columbia University.
Women's History Sourcebook
Scroll down to find your time period or country.

Librarians can help you find information for your research from many different sources.

Visit the library in person, get help on the phone, or email a librarian.

In Person
We are located on the Cañada College campus at 4200 Farm Hill Boulevard in Redwood City.

You can find us on the top floor of Building 9, above the Learning Center.

You can also schedule an APPOINTMENT to meet with a librarian one-on-one.

Hours (Fall and Spring)
Monday-Thursday, 8 a.m.-8 p.m.

Friday, 8 a.m.-3 p.m.

Saturday, 10 a.m.-2 p.m.