Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
To access any of Cañada Library's Databases, like Opposing Viewpoints, you will need go to the library's homepage and select the Articles tab. Once selected, click on the database name you would like to access from the Browse Databases From A-Z pull down menu.
From off campus, you will need to enter your library card number and sometimes your 4-Digit Pin (the last 4 digits of your phone number) or your last name:
America: History & Life database
America: History & Life
America: History and Life with Full Text is an excellent database for finding information on the history and culture of the United States and Canada. In this database you will find journal articles, magazine articles, book chapters, and book reviews
JSTOR includes over one thousand high-quality academic journals across the sciences, humanities, social sciences, arts and economics/business.
Super Search is a "one-stop" search engine that searches across the library's catalog and many of our library's databases like Academic Search Complete, EBSCO eBooks, Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection, and Business Source Elite. Just type in your topic (keyword) and hit the search button to retrieve results. Results include: newspaper articles, magazine articles, academic journal articles, eBooks, and more.
Scholarly vs. Popular
Scholarly vs. Popular Sources
Academic Journals are considered scholarly sources because they are created to further knowledge in academic fields and educate, while newspapers and magazines are considered popular sources because they are created to inform or to entertain.
U.S. History in Context database
U.S. History in Context
U.S. History is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History. U.S. History merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a multidisciplinary database and thus can be used to find information on research paper topics for any of your classes at Cañada College. This database includes newspaper articles, magazine articles, academic journal articles, images, and reports.