eBooks: Academic Collections searches and views the full text of eBooks. This database contains a large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter.
Search Tip: select "Advanced Book Search," and then "Limited preview and full view" to find books with full text online.
Here are some full-text Google books that have information about a founding California family or person:
Famous American Fortunes and the Men who Have Made Them by Laura Carter Holloway (1885) has a chapter on James Flood starting at page 124..
Some of the people you are researching for this assignment are pretty obscure and might not have books written about them, but you might be surprised. Find older books online through these digital archives for free.
Chinese Immigrants, African Americans, and Racial Anxiety in the United States, 1848-82
by
The Infamous King of the Comstock: William Sharon And The Gilded Age In The West
by
The Bonanza King
by
Bear Flag Rising
by
Levi Strauss: the man who gave blue jeans to the world
by
The Associates
by
Game Changers
by
American Disruptor: The Scandalous Life of Leland Stanford
by
Industrial Cowboys: Miller & Lux and the transformation of the Far West, 1850-1920
by
Industrial Cowboys: Miller & Lux and the transformation of the Far West, 1850-1920
by
The Infamous King of the Comstock: William Sharon And The Gilded Age In The West
by
Wells Fargo
by
Adolph Sutro: King of the Comstock Lode and Mayor of San Francisco
by
San Francisco's West Portal Neighborhoods
by
San Francisco's Lost Landmarks
by
Fascinating True Tales from Old California
by
The Force of a Feather
by
The Humanity Archive: Recovering the Soul of Black History From a Whitewashed American Myth
by
Women Trailblazers of California
by
The Wilder Muir: The Curious Nature of John Muir
by
The Wild Muir: : twenty-two of John Muir's greatest adventures
by
A Passion for Nature: The Life of John Muir
by
California History-Makers
by
Junípero Serra : California, Indians, and the Transformation of a Missionary
by
Converting California : Indians and Franciscans in the missions
by
Religion in Latin America
by
The little flowers of St. Francis of Assisi in the first English translation
The Medieval World View
by
Francis of Assisi: The Life and Afterlife of a Medieval Saint
by
The Beginnings of San Francisco: From the Expedition of Anza, 1774, to the City Charter of April 15, 1850
by
San Francisco's Potrero Hill
by
California heritage : an anthology of history and literature
by
Fascinating True Tales from Old California
by
Nothing Like It in the World
by
California History-Makers
by
Eyewitness to the American West
by
The Associates
by
The Associates
by
Sunset Limited
by
Nothing Like It in the World
by
The Human Tradition in California
by
Building San Francisco's Parks, 1850-1930
by
The Sutter Family and the Origins of Gold Rush Sacramento
by
The Campaign of the Century
by
The Land of Orange Groves and Jails
by
Archy Lee's Struggle for Freedom : The True Story of California Gold, the Nation’s Tragic March Toward Civil War, and a Young Black Man’s Fight for Liberty
by
Voices of American Indian Assimilation and Resistance
by
The Newspaper Warrior: Sarah Winnemucca Hopkins's Campaign for American Indian Rights, 1864-1891
by
The Literature of California
by
The Troubled Life of Peter Burnett: Oregon Pioneer and First Governor of California
by
The Literature of California
by
California's Frontier Naturalists
by
Fight in the Fields
by
Sal Si Puedes (Escape If You Can)
by
A Dolores Huerta Reader
by
Latina Legacies
by
Women Trailblazers of California
by
500 Years of Chicana Women's History / 500 años de la Mujer Chicana
by
California Women and Politics
by
Pio Pico: The Last Governor of Mexican California
by
Don Pío Pico's Historical Narrative
by
The California gold discovery; sources, documents, accounts, and memoirs relating to the discovery of gold at Sutter's Mill
by
The Associates
by
Bear Flag Rising
by
The Public City: the political construction of urban life in San Francisco, 1850-190
by
These books are found in the PLS catalog and are not located at Cañada College .
California Biographical Dictionary
