LibGuides: Health Sciences: Articles

Accessing Databases

To access any of Cañada Library's Databases, like Opposing Viewpoints, you will need go to the library's homepage and select the Articles tab. Once selected, click on the database name you would like to access from the Browse Databases From A-Z pull down menu.

If you are off campus, you will need to log in with your library card number and pin (last for digits of your phone number).

Health Sciences Databases

To see a comprehensive list of all the recommended databases for Science and Health Sciences, click here.

Gale Virtual Reference Library Database

Gale eBooks
Formally Gale Virtual Reference Library, Gale eBooks is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7. Because each library creates its own eBook collection, the content you see may vary if you use the database at different libraries (your school, your public library, or your office).

CenterWatch

CenterWatch provides up-to-date information on prescription drugs, clinical trials, and other health and education resources.

CenterWatch

Super Search

Super Search
Super Search is a "one-stop" search engine that searches across the library's catalog and many of our library's databases like Academic Search Complete, EBSCO eBooks, Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection, and Business Source Elite. Just type in your topic (keyword) and hit the search button to retrieve results. Results include: newspaper articles, magazine articles, academic journal articles, eBooks, and more.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition database

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides information on many health topics with a strong focus on nursing and allied health articles. This database includes scholarly journal articles, magazine articles, and trade publication articles.

MEDLINE

Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more.

MEDLINE
Medline provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, this resource is primarily a citation database with some full text articles available. This database includes: academic journal articles, magazine articles, government reports, professional (trade) magazine articles

Academic Search Complete

Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a multidisciplinary database and thus can be used to find information on research paper topics for any of your classes at Cañada College. This database includes newspaper articles, magazine articles, academic journal articles, images, and reports.