.Accessing Databases
To access any of Cañada Library's Databases, like JSTOR or Gale eBooks, you will need go to the library's homepage:
|
|
Scholarly articles are written by experts in the field and, additionally, reviewed by a panel experts in the field. They tend to include a lot of research and data, and the information in the article is backed up by a list of references.
Example of a Journal with Scholarly Articles
Popular articles are often written by journalists for a general audience and are not reviewed by experts in the field. Popular articles rarely include references.
Example of a Magazine with Popular Articles
For more detailed information on what a scholarly article looks like, see the excellent tutorial Anatomy of a Scholarly Article.
Having trouble finding resources? Check out this video from Norwich Library on some useful keyword strategies.
Gale OneFile: Religion and Philosophy covers topics of philosophies and religions in one comprehensive collection. Researchers will gain valuable insight about the impact religion has had on culture throughout history, including literature, arts, and language. Updated daily, Religion and Philosophy supports a broad range of topics from theological approaches to social issues.
Academic Search Complete is a multidisciplinary database and thus can be used to find information on research paper topics for any of your classes at Cañada College. This database includes newspaper articles, magazine articles, academic journal articles, images, and reports.
JSTOR includes over one thousand high-quality academic journals across the sciences, humanities, social sciences, arts and economics/business.
Search most of the library databases, eBooks, physical collection, and open access resources all in one place. OneSearch provides simple, one-stop searching for books, videos, articles, digital media, and more.