Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Recommended Websites on U.S. History
"American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity. "
Making of America
"Making of America (MoA) is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction... The collection currently contains approximately 10,000 books and 50,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints."
"NARA preserves historically valuable archives of the U.S. government, including documents, photographs, images, maps, audio clips, letters, speeches, and films. Check out the Exhibit Hall for fascinating primary sources on such topics as the Lincoln assassination and World War II propaganda posters."
Native American Heritage Month
"The Library of Congress, National Archives and Records Administration, National Endowment for the Humanities, National Gallery of Art, National Park Service, Smithsonian Institution and United States Holocaust Memorial Museum join in paying tribute to the rich ancestry and traditions of Native Americans."
"Picturing America, an exciting new initiative from the National Endowment for the Humanities, brings masterpieces of American art into classrooms and libraries nationwide. Through this innovative program, students and citizens will gain a deeper appreciation of our country’s history and character through the study and understanding of its art."
Papers of the War Department: 1784-1800
"Fire destroyed the War Department office in 1800. For decades historians believed that its files, and the window they provide into the early federal government, had been lost forever. This collection unites copies of the lost files in a digital archive that reconstitutes this invaluable historical resource. "
DocsTeach is a collection of thousands of primary source documents on topics such as the Revolution and the new nation, the Civil War and Reconstruction, the Great Depression and World War II, and other topics from the National Archives.
Documenting the American South
"This electronic text archive from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill contains primary source slavery narratives and first-person narratives of the South as well as a digitized library of southern literature."
How to Search Google Gov
Use this format to search only U.S. government pages: type your search term followed by the word site and a colon and the domain .gov
Example: americans with disabilities act site:.gov
Use this to find academic articles on Google. Note: not all articles are available in full-text for free.
How do I determine if a website is reliable?
- Who is the author?
- Why was it written -- for what purpose, organization, or audience?
- When was it written?
- Does it include references or a works cited list?