Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
General Art Websites
The Artcyclopedia only deals with art that can be viewed online, and indexes 2,300 art sites (from museums and galleries), with links to around 180,000 artworks by 8,500 renowned artists.
ArtLex Art Dictionary
ArtLex provides definitions for more than 3,600 terms used in discussing art/visual culture, along with thousands of supporting images, pronunciation notes, great quotations and cross-references.
Research comprehensive artist information with artnet Monographs library, a resource developed in close collaboration with artists, estates and galleries.
Encyclopedia Smithsonian: Art & Design
Great resource for online exhibitions and research relating to art and design.
Web Gallery of Art
A virtual museum and searchable database of Western (European) fine arts of the Medieval, Renaissance, Baroque, Neoclassicism, Romanticism, Realism, and Impressionism periods (1000-1900). Artist biographies, commentaries, guided tours, period music, catalogue, free postcard and mobile services are provided.
Smithsonian Archives of American Art
With over 20 million items in its continually growing collections, the Archives is the world’s largest and most widely used resource dedicated to collecting and preserving the papers and primary records of the visual arts in America.
Sculpture, painting, installation artists, print, performance, photography, collage and multimedia and digital artists. The current, the famous, established and emerging artists since 1900, with links to web resources.
Art History Websites
Mother of All Art History
Substantial listing of art history sites on the Internet from the University of Michigan.
Art History Resources on the Web
In-depth hyperlinked lists divided by period and maintained by Chris Witcombe, Professor of Art History at Sweet Briar College, Virginia.
Timeline of Art History
The Timeline of Art History presents the Met’s collection via a chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of global art history. Over 300 timelines, 930 essays, almost 7,000 objects, and is regularly updated and enriched to provide new scholarship and insights on the collection.
Featured Free Online Resource: Calisphere
Calisphere is the University of California's free public gateway to a world of primary sources. More than 200,000 digitized items — including photographs, documents, newspaper pages, political cartoons, works of art, diaries, transcribed oral histories, advertising, and other unique cultural artifacts — reveal the diverse history and culture of California and its role in national and world history.
Museum Collections Online
Websites for major museums often provide lots of information about objects in their collections in searchable databases. Museum websites also may feature online exhibitions, links to articles, and educational materials for students and teachers.
Museums large and small, classic and modern, world-renowned and community-based from over 40 countries have contributed more than 40,000 high-resolution images of works ranging from oil on canvas to sculpture and furniture. Powered by Google.
Art Images for College Teaching
Emphasizing ancient, medieval, and Renaissance European art and architecture. AICT is intended primarily to disseminate images of art and architectural works in the public domain on a free-access, free-use basis to all levels of the educational community, as well as to the public at large.