Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Searching Article Databases
You can search article databases for news and research about your industry, company, or market research. Combine keywords and short phrases with the word "AND" to search for those words and phrases within articles. If searching for a phrase place the phrase between quotes.
- Industry Search: fast-food restaurants AND "profit margin"
- Company Search: Facebook AND "social responsibility"
- Market Research Search: teenagers AND social media
- A good way to start a search.
- The important concepts in your own words.
- Found anywhere in the article (title, author, subject terms, etc.)
Limit to Peer-Reviewed or Scholarly articles:
- Journal articles go through a peer-review process. Being peer-reviewed is a sign that a paper's author(s) have done a certain level of due diligence in their work and their research is complete, manages conflicts-of-interest, and is fair and objective.
Narrow the Date Range:
- When looking for Current Research or Evidence-Based Practices limit your date range to the last 3-5 years.
The following library databases will help you find articles in magazines, journals, and newspapers about companies and industries and various business topics. Databases are owned by a few different companies, and the library pays for access to make relevant sources available for your research. The sources in the databases are rarely available for free on the open web.
Business Insights: Global
See the Companies tab for company profiles, histories, SWOT reports, investment reports, and financials. The Company Finder link lets you search by country, city, state, NAICS code, revenue, and employees.
Business Source Elite
Provides access to articles in scholarly, peer-reviewed business journals, trade journals and business news publications. Also includes company profiles, industry profiles, market research reports, SWOT analyses and more. Includes full-text of the Harvard Business Review.
New York Times (NYTimes.com) Cañada - OFF CAMPUS ACCESS
OFF CAMPUS ACCESS LINK
Cañada College Library offers online New York Times accounts for all students, staff, and faculty. This includes unlimited access via mobile apps on tablets and smart phones. NYTimes.com accounts are good for one year for eligible Cañada College community members only (current students, staff, and faculty), after which accounts need to be renewed.
Statistics-based reports, studies, dossiers, and data points on industries and markets. The "Consumer Market Outlook," "Digital Market Outlook," and "Mobility Market Outlook" sections contain forecasts and analytics for various product groups in the global consumer goods/digital economy/mobility markets, with ability to refine market and geographic region.
Wall Street Journal
The Wall Street Journal is a news source that focuses on business issues but also includes articles on society, politics, and more. Cañada College Library has joined the Wall Street Journal in a collaboration that will provide students, faculty, and staff with direct access to the Journal. You can use your Cañada-sponsored WSJ membership to research topics relevant to your courses and careers, save and share pertinent articles with others, follow companies and industries that interest you, track real-time stories and trends, and follow coverage of arts, culture, and life.
Types of Articles
When searching in article databases or finding articles online, sometimes it is challenging to determine which type of article you have found.
There are key differences between scholarly, popular and professional publications. For a side-by-side comparison check out the following Quick Reference chart from University of British Colombia Libraries:
How to Search Statista Database