Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Keywords to use to search for articles
Search terms, or keywords, help you find articles on your topic. Here are a few:
- global warming
- oil spill effects
- fish farming
- oil drilling
- tidal power generation
- ocean health
Access Science encyclopedia
Access Science Encyclopedia
Access Science is an online encyclopedia that provides overview information on science topics. This database includes:
Opposing Viewpoints database: Pro & Con articles
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Opposing Viewpoints is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the solution features continuously updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
Science in Context database for scholarly articles
Science in Context
Gale In Context: Science is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. The solution merges Gale's authoritative and continuously updated reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
ProQuest Science Journals Database
ProQuest Natural Science Collection
ProQuest Natural Science Collection is a definitive resource for students studying both the applied and general sciences. It includes nearly 1,000 science journals, many peer-reviewed, in the areas of Physics, Astronomy, Biology, Earth Science and Chemistry. This database includes:
academic journal articles
professional (trade) magazine articles
images including charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, and photos
Statista database: Infographics, charts and graphs
Statista statistics on everything from business, politics, society, and more. Find statistics, infographics, industry reports, industry forecasts, and more!
Using the Statista database, you can create infographics to illustrate your topic, like this one:
- Ocean Conservancy. (September 1, 2019). Most common items found in the International Coastal Ocean Cleanup in 2018 (in 1,000s) [Graph]. In Statista. Retrieved February 25, 2020, from https://www.statista.com/statistics/726724/weight-of-most-common-items-found-in-global-oceans/