Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENGL 100 /105 Terzakis/Maher/Malavade: Books and eBooks

eBooks

EBSCO eBooks

eBooks: Academic Collections searches and views the full text of eBooks. This database contains a large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter.

Gale eBooks

Formally Gale Virtual Reference Library, Gale eBooks is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7. Because each library creates its own eBook collection, the content you see may vary if you use the database at different libraries (your school, your public library, or your office).

Books

Clean

Sheff, David. Clean : Overcoming Addiction and Ending America’s Greatest Tragedy . Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2013.

Dreamland: The True Tale of America's Opiate Epidemic

Quinones, Sam. Dreamland : The True Tale of America’s Opiate Epidemic. Bloomsbury Press, 2015.

Drug Dealer, MD: How Doctors Were Duped, Patients Got Hooked, and Why it's So Hard to Stop

Lembke, Anna. Drug Dealer, MD : How Doctors Were Duped, Patients Got Hooked, and Why It’s So Hard to Stop. Johns Hopkins University Press, 2016.

Pain Killer: An Empire of Deceit and the Origin of America's Opioid Epidemic

Meier, Barry. Pain Killer : An Empire of Deceit and the Origin of America’s Opioid Epidemic. Second edition, Random House, 2018.

Textbooks for ENGL 100 - Terzakis

MLA 8 citation style requires book titles in italics and citations in a hanging indent (the second line is indented below the first line), as you see below.

Alexander, Michelle. The New Jim Crow : Mass Incarceration

in the Age of Colorblindness. New Press, 2010.

Graff, Gerald and Cathy, Birkenstein. They Say / I Say : The

Moves That Matter in Academic Writing. Second edition, W.W. Norton & Co., 2010.

Hari, Johann. Chasing the Scream: The First and Last Days

     of the War on Drugs. Bloomsbury, 2015.

Textbooks for ENGL 105 - Maher

MLA 8 citation style requires book titles in italics and citations in a hanging indent (the second line is indented below the first line). For example:

Harris, Malcolm. Kids These Days: The Making of Millennials.

     Little, Brown, 2018.

Twenge, Jean M. IGen : Why Today’s Super-Connected Kids Are

     Growing up Less Rebellious, More Tolerant, Less Happy--

     and Completely Unprepared for Adulthood (and What This

     Means for the Rest of Us) .Atria Books, 2017.