Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENGL 100 - Lawson: MLA Citation

In-Text Citations

In-text citations: Author-page style

MLA format follows the author-page method of in-text citation. This means that the author's last name and the page number(s) from which the quotation or paraphrase is taken must appear in the text, and a complete reference should appear on your Works Cited page. The author's name may appear either in the sentence itself or in parentheses following the quotation or paraphrase, but the page number(s) should always appear in the parentheses, not in the text of your sentence.

For example:

Wordsworth stated that Romantic poetry was marked by a "spontaneous overflow of powerful feelings" (263). 

Romantic poetry is characterized by the "spontaneous overflow of powerful feelings" (Wordsworth 263).
Wordsworth extensively explored the role of emotion in the creative process (263).

Both citations in the examples above, (263) and (Wordsworth 263), tell readers that the information in the sentence can be located on page 263 of a work by an author named Wordsworth. If readers want more information about this source, they can turn to the Works Cited page, where, under the name of Wordsworth, they would find the following information:

Wordsworth, William. Lyrical Ballads. Oxford UP, 1967.

Sample MLA Paper

Click here for a sample research paper.

Click here for examples and templates of how to make a work cited page. 

More Questions? MLA Resources

 

The Purdue OWL MLA Formatting and Style Guide is another helpful resource for MLA citation. This page provides information about citing (giving credit for any quotes, facts, paraphrases, or summaries in your paper). Check here for help with your works cited page (bibliography page).

 

Harvard Guide icon

The Harvard Guide to Using Sources provides excellent advice on the mechanics of citations. Great visual examples on citing various sources in MLA, APA, and Chicago. 

 

Easybib:  enter information about your book, article, or website and Easybib will create a citation.

MLA Format: Works Cited

When you use outside sources, you will need to create a works cited list that tells your reader all the information they need to find the source themselves if they want to.

 

See the examples below of commonly used resources. For more information about creating a works cited list, see Purdue OWL MLA Formatting and Style Guide.  There you will find examples of how to cite many different types of sources.

Print Books: MLA

 

Format:

Last Name, First Name.Title of Book. Publisher, year of publication. 

 

Example:

Gardner, Howard. Five Minds for the Future. Harvard Business School Press, 2006.

 

eBooks: MLA

 

Format:

Last Name, First Name. Title of Book. Publisher, Year Published. Database. URL.

 

Example:

Kronenfeld, Jennie J. Access To Care And Factors That Impact Access, Patients As Partners In Care And

      Changing Roles Of Health Providers. Bingley: Emerald Book Serials and Monographs, 2011. eBook

      Academic Collection (EBSCOhost). www.(rest of link here).com


 

 

Pictorial Example

 

Articles from the Library Databases: MLA

 

Format:

Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article." Title of Journal, Volume Number, Issue Number (Year

          Published), Page Numbers. Name of Database. URL. Date accessed.

Example:

Kereluik, Kristen, et al. "What Knowledge is of Most Worth: Teacher Knowledge for 21st Century Learning."

       Journal of Digital Learning in Teacher Education, 29.4 (2013), 127-140. General OneFile. www.(rest of

        link here).com. Accessed Dec. 10, 2020. 


Pictorial Example

 

 

MLA Website Format

 

It may be hard to find some of this information on webpages. List as much as you can find.

 

Format:

Author/Creator Last Name, First Name. "Title of Page." Name of Website, Name of Institution/Organization

          that Created the Site. Date of Creation or Last Update. URL.

 

Example:

"Project Zero History Timeline." Project Zero. School of Education, Harvard University. April 15,

          2010. https://pz.harvard.edu/project-zero-history-timeline.

 

 


Pictorial Example

 

 

Images: MLA

 

General Guidelines

1) Author/Creator. If not available skip to #2.

2) Title of image in italics. If not available or if image doesn’t have a title, create a brief descriptive title. (Photograph of horse running. Drawing of brain.) .

3) Original media of the image (Painting, Illustration, Photograph, Cartoon, Chart, Diagram, Graph, Map, etc.)

4) Date of image. If not available, write "n.d." for "no date."

5) Title of where the original image is located (MOMA, New York City).

6) Website/database where you found the images (ARTstor). If image is not from a website, give the name of the place you found it (National Geographic Magazine).

7) Add the medium (if online, write "Web." If print, write "Print.").

8) If the image is online, add the date you accessed it (Jan 01, 2011).

9) If the image is online, provide the link. 

 


Pictorial Example

For additional image citation examples and information see the MLA - Images Tab featured on the Art & Art History LibGuide

  MLA Format: In-Text Citation

When you use outside sources, you want to 1)  introduce them to the reader, 2) indicate a page number when applicable, and 3) show how this quote relates to what you are trying to say.

According to Howard Gardner the synthesizing mind is important for "selecting crucial information from the copious amounts of information available" (154).  In my experience it is difficult to know which information is crucial.

 

Longer quotes should be indented.

Howard Gardner argues that schools should cultivate all 5 minds for the future:

 

It is up to the educational system as a whole -- the educational systems in the broadest sense -- to ensure that the ensemble of minds is cultivated.  In one sense, this is a job of synthesis--making sure that all five kinds of minds are developed.  But equally, it is an ethical obligation:  in the years ahead, societies will not survive--let along thrive--unless as citizens we respect and culitvate the quintet of minds valorized here.  (165)

 

It is important to not emphasize too much one mind over the other, but the different qualities they bring and how they work together.

 

 

For more information about in-text citation, see Purdue Owl's MLA Citation Style page