Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Canada College Archives: Organization & Description

Series

The collection is organized into eight series.

Series 1, Audio-visual Materials, 1968-1984, 2008-2014 (not arranged)

Series 2, Course Catalogs & Schedule of Classes, 1968-ongoing (chronological)

Series 3, Librarian’s Subject Files, 1968-1987 (alphabetical)

Series 4, Newspaper Clippings, 1968-2000 (bulk, 1972-1974), (chronological)

Series 5, Reports & Research, 1924-1962, 1969-2012 (not arranged)

Series 6, Student, Staff and Faculty Newsletters, 1982, 1995-1999 (not arranged)

Series 7, Student Newspapers, 1972-1993, 1996, (chronological)

Series 8, Handbooks, Manuals & Directories, 1968-1990s (not arranged)

Series 9, Legal documents

Series Descriptions

Series 1, Audio-visual Materials, 1968-1984, 2008-2014

The series includes public relations photographs showing campus views, scenes and events in black and white and color. The majority of images are by photographer Isago Isau Tanaka. Also included are oral history interviews compiled for the SMCCD Oral History Interview Project, 2008-2014 described in greater detail here.

Series 2, Course Catalogs & Schedule of Classes, 1968-ongoing (chronological)

The series includes Cañada College Fall, Spring and Summer schedules and annual course catalogs with gaps in the later years. Includes schedules for Community Education (1968-1984).

Series 3, Librarian’s Subject Files, 1968-1987 (alphabetical)

Files kept by Librarian Florence Chan, who sat on many campus committees and collected materials for the archives, provide a rich overview of campus activities, administration and culture during the College's first two decades. Noteworthy files include “Bibliographies” authored by Cañada College faculty, including Vistas de la Raza by Gilberto Petris de la Rocha. “Faculty Senate” materials include governing council minutes and documents of incorporation. “Minority Faculty and Staff Committee” documents include listed names of “minority” staff/faculty on campus" (1976). A “Cañada” folder documents planning and activities for the College's multi-day strike and symposium (May 1970); assorted staff newsletters and “Programs” document a wide variety of campus happenings including commencements, plays, musicals, programs, poetry and literary publications, student guides, and brochures for academic and special programs. Community education event flyers include famed speakers/writers Anais Nin on parapsychology and psychologist Dr. Bruno Bettelheim. "Ethnic Studies Subcommittee" files show early efforts to support diversity in hiring and curriculum. Another file includes "Foreign Student" rosters from the 1970s and 1980s. A few additional files were added to this series by subsequent librarians through the 1990s.

Series 4, Newspaper Clippings, 1968-2000 (bulk, 1972-1974) (chronological)

The majority of news clippings are articles from local newspapers relating to aspects of Cañada College, received from a clipping service during 1972-1974. Three subsequent folders include later articles presumably collected by the college administration.

Series 5, Reports & Research, 1924-1962, 1969-2012 (not arranged)

Includes student profiles/enrollment data, college accreditation self-study and final reports, 1969-2007, educational master plans (2008, 2012) and more. Of special interest are early planning reports for the new college (1965) and a “District Office Historical Data-SMCCD” research file (1924-1962). College budget reports are in the Librarian's Subject Files.

Series 6, Student, Staff and Faculty Newsletters, 1982, 1995-1999 (not arranged)

Includes Cañada College Colts (1999), Cañada College News (1995-1996), ASCC Newsletter (1997-1998), Cañada Student Newsletter (1995), Cañada Research News (1997), Black Voice (1982, in Librarian's Subject Files).

Series 7, Student Newspapers, 1972-1993, 1996 (chronological)

Includes The Weathervane (1972-1982), The Long Valley Gazette (1983-1993), The Long Valley Times (1996) and The Connection (1982), as well as selected issues of student literary magazines (1972, 1975).

Series 8, Handbooks, Manuals & Directories, 1968-1990s, (not arranged)

An assortment of personnel and telephone directories, policy manuals, faculty and student handbooks and calendars with gaps.

Series 9, Legal Documents (1992) 

MALDEF EOPS Program violation case documentation.