The Cañada College Library, on the third floor of Building 9, offers computers, textbooks, technology, research help, printing, and group study rooms.
Library computers do not require you to log in and do not have a time limit so you can come and stay all day. Chromebooks, hotspots and calculators can be checked out from the circulation desk after you complete a technology loan agreement.
Search for textbooks available at the library. If you do not see your textbook, fill out the Textbook request form for students.
To satisfy the "Heightened Awareness of Self and Community in Relation to Global Issues" requirement 9p. 25 of the PTK Honors Guide), try the Ethnographic Video Online and Global Issues in Context databases.
Features hundreds of continuously updated issue and country portals that bring together a variety of specially selected, relevant sources for analysis of these issues. Includes rich multimedia.
If you're planning to transfer to a university, consider joining Cañada College's chapter of community colleges' only national honor society, Phi Theta Kappa. For 13 consecutive years, Cañada College's Phi Theta Kappa chapter has been named a Five Star Chapter. Alumni have transferred to Stanford, UC Berkeley, Williams, M.I.T., Columbia, UCLA, UC Davis, Cornell, University of Washington and Dartmouth and have gone on to graduate institutions such as UCSF, and Harvard, Vanderbilt, Oxford, and Cambridge universities.
The only honor society named by the American Association of Community Colleges as an official honor society for two-year colleges, Phi Theta Kappa offers webinars and online tools for finding scholarships. You're eligible for membership in Cañada College's Phi Theta Kappa chapter if you have a cumulative GPA of 3.45 or higher and have completed a minimum of 12 units at Cañada in courses that are degree applicable. With a network of more than 3.8 million members around the world, Phi Theta Kappa’s one-time international membership fee is $60. Beta Zeta Nu is in PTK's Nevada/California Region.
Each year Beta Zeta Nu chapter members participate in PTK's Honors in Action, an Honors Study Topic exploration, problem solving, and action-oriented service to address community challenges. Students meet over the course of a semester or year to research and create a project according to the Honors Program Guide. Advisors for Cañada College's Beta Zeta Nu chapter are Autumn McMahon, Katherine Ramirez, Paul Roscelli, and Prof. Gampi Shankar.
Kanopy is a streaming film database that includes movies and documentaries in a wide range of categories, including the Criterion Collection, The Great Courses, A24 Collection, short films, early film, independent film, Spanish language cinema, world cinema, and more.
Search "Play" as a search term in Kanopy and find more films like these:
Gale OneFile: Business contains full-text coverage of all business disciplines, including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, and business theory and practice. Features leading business and trade publications, updated daily.
Statista statistics on everything from business, politics, society, and more. Find statistics, infographics, industry reports, industry forecasts, and more!
Gale OneFile: Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine covers the fields of physical therapy, physical fitness, and sports medicine. Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine offers a wide spectrum of information, including proven treatment techniques, experimental research, and more.
Business Source Elite provides full-text coverage of scholarly business, management and economics journals. This collection also includes publications covering topics such as accounting, banking, finance, international business, marketing, sales, etc. In this database you will find articles from 1,000 Business Publications, over 10,000 Company Profiles, and more.
ARTstor is a digital image library with more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences; provides access to high-resolution digital images from museums, libraries, and archives. It is excellent for finding primary sources that offer different perspectives on historical events. In this database you will find images of paintings, photographs, sculptures, drawings, architecture, textiles, and much more!
Gale OneFile: Culinary Arts offers a variety of information from major cooking and nutrition magazines as well as book reference content from Delmar.
Gale OneFile: Pop Culture Studies analyzes and contributes to popular culture by offering useful information for researchers in social science, history, art, and liberal arts courses.
Millions of articles about drama, music, art history, and filmmaking.
Streaming databases, because nothing says nostalgia like an old movie.
Films on Demand is an online library of streaming educational videos, documentaries, and news videos covering a wide range of educational topics. These videos cover various subjects including, Anthropology, Nursing, History, Languages, etc. Videos include closed captioning and transcripts. Links to individual film titles and segments can be shared via Canvas, email or your personal website.
Kanopy is a streaming film database that includes movies and documentaries in a wide range of categories, including the Criterion Collection, The Great Courses, A24 Collection, short films, early film, independent film, Spanish language cinema, world cinema, and more.
Theme 7: Play It Forward. Search the Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection database for articles about growth mindset or education for neurodivergent students.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is a comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. In this database you will find academic journal articles, primary research articles, magazine articles, images like photographs, charts and graphs.
Gale OneFile: Psychology supports research in all fields of psychology: abnormal, biological, cognitive, comparative, developmental, personality, quantitative, social, and all areas of applied psychology. Researchers, psychologists, counselors, and behavioral scientists will discover relevant information from the thoughts, views, discoveries, and reports found in this comprehensive collection.
