LibGuides: Blockchain and Cryptocurrency: Databases

Searching the Databases

To search the Library databases for articles, the simplest place to start is by entering your keywords on OneSearch on the library homepage. These keywords and topics can be searched on the library databases and on Google for sources outside the library. As always, make sure to vet your sources.

Keywords – for exploring a this topic

Blockchain	Cryptocurrency	Crypto
Crypto.com	Coinbase	Bitcoin (BTC)
Ethereum (ETH)	Altcoins	Non-Fungible Tokens (NFTs)
Dogecoin (DOGE)	Litecoin (LTC)	Processing power
Mining and Miners	Crypto exchange	Regulations
Central network	Currency hedge	Inflation hedge
Artificial Intelligence (AI)	The Federal Reserve	Investors
High risk	Speculators	Stablecoins

Databases

OneSearch This link opens in a new window
Search most of the library databases, eBooks, physical collection, and open access resources all in one place. OneSearch provides simple, one-stop searching for books, videos, articles, digital media, and more.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a multidisciplinary database and thus can be used to find information on research paper topics for any of your classes at Cañada College. This database includes newspaper articles, magazine articles, academic journal articles, images, and reports.
Business (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: Business contains full-text coverage of all business disciplines, including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, and business theory and practice. Features leading business and trade publications, updated daily.
Business Insights This link opens in a new window
Business Insights is a unique source for international business intelligence offering the most comprehensive and convenient way to find case studies, in-depth statistical data coupled with deep research, and the ability to compare global economies, countries and industries.
Business Source Elite This link opens in a new window
Business Source Elite provides full-text coverage of scholarly business, management and economics journals. This collection also includes publications covering topics such as accounting, banking, finance, international business, marketing, sales, etc. In this database you will find articles from 1,000 Business Publications, over 10,000 Company Profiles, and more.
Computer Science (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: Computer Science provides access to leading business and technical publications in the computer, telecommunications, and electronics industries. The database provides information on computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas like hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications, and the application of technology.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher includes current, hot topic reports providing unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
EBSCO eBooks This link opens in a new window
eBooks: Academic Collections searches and views the full text of eBooks. This database contains a large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter.
Entrepreneurship (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: Entrepreneurship provides insights, tips, strategies, and success stories for business schools and entrepreneurs.
Environmental Studies and Policy (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: Environmental Studies and Policy answers inquiries about environmental concerns with coverage journals and reference content from Delmar and diverse perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policymakers, and corporate interests.
Environmental Studies in Context This link opens in a new window
Gale In Context: Environmental Studies focuses on the physical and social aspects of environmental issues. Topic, organization, state and province portals form research centers around issues covering earth systems, global change, land and water use, populations, legislation, and more. Overviews provide essential information, supplemented by academic journals, news, case studies, conferences, statistics, and rich multimedia.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Formally Gale Virtual Reference Library, Gale eBooks is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7. Because each library creates its own eBook collection, the content you see may vary if you use the database at different libraries (your school, your public library, or your office).
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR includes over one thousand high-quality academic journals across the sciences, humanities, social sciences, arts and economics/business.
New York Times This link opens in a new window
Cañada College Library offers online New York Times accounts for all students, staff, and faculty. This includes unlimited access via mobile apps on tablets and smart phones. NYTimes.com accounts are good for one year for eligible Cañada College community members only (current students, staff, and faculty), after which accounts need to be renewed.
For more information check out our NYT guide https://guides.canadacollege.edu/newyorktimes
O'Reilly Learning (Safari Tech Books Online) This link opens in a new window
O'Reilly Learning (formally Safari Tech Books) contains eBooks, videos, learning paths, audio books, and more on the latest in technology and business trends.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the solution features continuously updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista statistics on everything from business, politics, society, and more. Find statistics, infographics, industry reports, industry forecasts, and more!
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
The Wall Street Journal is a news source that focuses on business issues but also includes articles on society, politics, and more. Cañada College Library has joined the Wall Street Journal in a collaboration that will provide students, faculty, and staff with direct access to the Journal. You can use your Cañada-sponsored WSJ membership to research topics relevant to your courses and careers, save and share pertinent articles with others, follow companies and industries that interest you, track real-time stories and trends, and follow coverage of arts, culture, and life.
For more information check out our Wall Street Journal FAQ Guide: https://guides.canadacollege.edu/wsj/FAQ

Opposing Viewpoint in Context

Digital Currency - Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Digital currencies are Internet-based currencies that do not require physical banknotes or coins. Unlike traditional currency, which is backed by a government treasury, digital currencies can be decentralized, meaning their value is not backed by any single institution or government entity. Digital currencies first began to appear in the 1990s, and later innovations in digital cryptography in the twenty-first century gave rise to cryptocurrencies such as Bitcoin, Ethereum, and Ripple. Cryptocurrencies are decentralized forms of digital currency that allow peer-to-peer transactions and keep a permanent record of all transactions for which the unit of currency is used.

CQ Researcher

Digital currency
Financial transactions increasingly are taking place outside the traditional government-backed currency system via a variety of so-called digital currencies or cryptocurrencies. The best known of these, bitcoin, is accepted by a growing number of businesses large and small, with more than 2 million transactions last month. For people with a strong libertarian bent, the involvement of governments in currency is cause for alarm. To them, digital currency is a way to achieve greater freedom. For other users, protecting privacy and avoiding the costs of the traditional monetary system, such as paying fees to credit card companies, make digital currencies attractive. But these currencies also are proving risky — their values are volatile, and some parts of the system are vulnerable to hackers. Moreover, law enforcement officials say digital currency provides criminals a way to hide the proceeds of their illegal activities. International, federal and state regulators are studying these new currencies to determine how to address the issues they pose.
The future of cash
While cash continues to circulate widely in the United States, many consumers, as well as many business experts, believe paper money will soon become antiquated. Advocates of a cashless society point to countries such as Sweden and to some Chinese cities where mobile payment applications are supplanting paper currency. In the United States, digital payment systems are helping to change consumer habits, and some businesses have stopped accepting cash. Advocates of a cashless society argue that credit and debit cards and digital payment methods are efficient and transparent and inhibit financial crimes. Because cash is anonymous and largely untraceable, it can facilitate illicit activities such as tax evasion and money laundering. Critics of the cashless trend raise concerns regarding privacy, security and equality. They argue that cash lacks the fees associated with cards or electronic money transfers and that cashless businesses discriminate against people who must, or choose to, rely on cash. In the face of this criticism, some businesses that went cashless are reversing course.
The Future of Cryptocurrency
The November bankruptcy of cryptocurrency exchange FTX capped a volatile year of selloffs and chaos in the crypto market. This accelerated congressional efforts to create an oversight framework for the largely unregulated and highly unstable digital assets such as bitcoin. Crypto industry supporters, including many GOP members of Congress, view digital assets and their underlying blockchain technology as revolutionary, even as critics deride these assets as a massive Ponzi scheme and blockchains as impractical and environmentally hazardous. At stake is the future of an industry that has become a magnet for cybercrime, but that White House officials believe could bolster U.S. leadership in global finance. Meanwhile, the Biden administration is testing the concept of a government-backed digital currency that could accomplish some of the same goals cryptocurrencies sought to achieve, such as faster, cheaper international payments and giving unbanked consumers access to the financial system.
Hidden Money
Tax evasion and money laundering are generating major headaches and revenue losses for governments across the globe. In this shadow economy, wealthy investors and others use offshore tax havens and shell companies to hide money and avoid tax collectors. Drug cartels and other criminals, meanwhile, launder money by buying real estate or putting illicit gains in legitimate businesses. According to one estimate, the amount of hidden money worldwide tops $10 trillion. In response, experts are urging more cooperation among governments. The United States is seeking to collect more information on the overseas financial accounts of U.S. citizens, and other nations want Washington to share more data about their citizens' accounts in U.S. banks. But the Trump administration opposes a proposal that would require multinational companies to disclose their earnings in each country and pay a global minimum tax. And with U.S. states competing to attract businesses, the United States has become one of the largest tax havens in the world.
Dark Money
The Supreme Court's 2010 decision in Citizens United v. Federal Election Commission legalized unlimited secret donations to political campaigns. Thirteen years later, this so-called “dark money” has become a normal part of U.S. elections, with both parties raising tens of millions in anonymous funds each election cycle. During the 2022 midterms, four dark money groups aligned with Republican or Democratic congressional leaders poured more than $295 million into federal campaigns. Proponents say such large, undisclosed donations protect political donors’ freedom of speech, but critics argue these contributions have enabled the super-wealthy to secretly control U.S. politics. They also warn that it has fostered political corruption, enabled malicious attack ads and provided a gateway for foreign entities to influence American politicians. While polls show U.S. voters overwhelmingly oppose dark money and are dissatisfied with the current campaign finance system, major political, legal and administrative obstacles prevent reform at the federal level. Nevertheless, reformers say, officials are beginning to check the influence of dark money at the state and local levels.
The Federal Reserve
The Federal Reserve, America's central bank, plays an important role in protecting and stabilizing the U.S. economy by controlling inflation, limiting unemployment and regulating financial institutions. In response to the business shutdowns resulting from the COVID-19 pandemic, the Fed undertook a host of aggressive actions to stimulate the economy, including reducing its benchmark interest rate to near zero, establishing massive emergency lending programs and buying large amounts of bonds and other assets. But the economy has revived this year and prices are rising as consumers begin spending again and businesses expand. The Fed now faces questions about whether it has waited too long to control inflation by pulling back on its stimulus measures. Critics have also challenged the Fed's recent foray into social justice and environmental questions. And there is an ongoing debate among economic experts and policymakers about the degree to which the Fed should be insulated from pressure by political leaders as it sets its policies.