LibGuides: Climate Change and Sustainability: Databases

Searching the Databases

To search the Library databases for articles, the simplest place to start is by entering your keywords on OneSearch on the library homepage. These keywords and topics can be searched on the library databases and on Google for sources outside the library. As always, make sure to vet your sources.

Keywords – for exploring a this topic

Sustainability	Climate change	Global warming
Air conditioning	Deforestation	Reforestation
Extreme weather	Weather	Fossil fuels (like coal, oil, and gas)
Miles per gallon (MPG)	Temperature	Ozone layer
Renewable energy	Solar power	Wind power
Tesla (electric cars and solar solutions)	Electric vehicles	Climate deniers
Depletion of natural resources	Ecological balance	Oil industry AND Coal industry
Conservation / Conservationist	Reduce / Recycle / Reuse	Carbon footprint
Carbon offset	Carbon credit	Air pollution
The Clean Air Act (U.S.)	Smog	Health problems
Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)	California Air Resources Board (CARB)	Record temperatures

Opposing Viewpoint in Context

Plastic Waste - Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Plastics are synthetic materials widely used in manufacturing, packaging, and consumer goods. Polyethylene, the most commonly used type of plastic, became available for commercial use in the United States in the 1950s. Technical advances led to the creation of different types of polyethylene with unique properties and characteristics that make it suitable for producing a wide variety of goods. Polyethylene appears in packing materials, toys, bulletproof vests, carpeting, golf balls, and automobile parts, among many other objects. Plastic's relative affordability and pliability have historically made it a popular material among manufacturers.
E-Waste - Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Electronic waste, or e-waste, refers to discarded electrical or electronic devices, including televisions and computer equipment. Most e-waste is thrown away and taken to landfills or incinerated. Health advocates note that most e-waste contains hazardous materials that can have detrimental impacts on humans and the environment if not disposed of safely. E-waste materials can be recycled to preserve valuable metals, plastics, or other substances that can be reused. Some items like computers or smartphones can also be refurbished or the materials in them can be recycled and placed in new items.
Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)
The US Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) is a government organization mandated to safeguard human health, preserve natural environments, and enforce related federal laws. As part of its mission, the EPA reviews chemicals for safety and oversees the cleanup of toxic waste sites and contaminated land. Beyond these core functions, the EPA participates in policy development regarding natural resource management, the processing of agricultural products, and relevant economic and health issues. On a global level, the EPA works with agencies such as the World Health Organization and the United Nations Environmental Programme to address environmental issues affecting the worldwide community. Headquartered in Washington, DC, the EPA is subdivided into thirteen component offices and ten regional offices across the United States. On March 11, 2021, Michael Regan became the first Black man to serve as administrator of the EPA. The agency's major internal departments include the Office of Administration and Resource Management, the Office of Research and Development, the Office of Water, and the Office of Enforcement and Compliance Assurance. Along with the Central Intelligence Agency (CIA) and Small Business Administration (SBA), it is one of the few independent federal agencies led by cabinet-level officials.
Fossil Fuels
Fossil fuels are energy resources that have accumulated in the ground over millions of years through the decay of organic materials such as ancient plant and animal remains. The three main types of fossil fuels are coal, crude oil, and natural gas. Unlike renewable sources of energy, fossil fuels are depleted at rates that far exceed the rates in which they can be replenished. This finite supply represents one of several major issues and problems associated with fossil fuels. Other issues include environmental, economic, and security concerns.
Fracking -
Hydraulic fracturing, commonly known as fracking, is a drilling technique used to extract oil and natural gas trapped within sedimentary rock formations deep beneath the earth's surface. Fracking typically involves pumping large quantities of high-pressure water mixed with sand and chemicals into the ground to create fractures in the rock and release the fuels trapped inside. Hydraulic fracturing stimulates the flow of oil or natural gas to the surface, where it can be captured, processed, and used as a source of energy. The technique has enabled the oil and gas industry to extract large volumes of fossil fuels from unconventional locations like shale rock, sandstone, or coalbeds, where fuel is dispersed in small pockets rather than concentrated in underground reservoirs.
Biofuels -
Biofuels are a renewable fuel source derived from biomass (organic material from plants or animals) or biowaste. Also known as agrofuel, biofuels have been made from several different biomass sources throughout history, including agricultural crops such as corn and switchgrass as well as algae, animal fat, and vegetable oil. Energy can also be derived from biowaste such as landfill gases (LFG) emitted from rotting garbage in landfills. Converting biomass energy safely, cleanly, and efficiently remains an ongoing challenge.
Carbon Offsets -
Carbon offsets are activities designed to counterbalance the environmental damage caused by carbon and other greenhouse gas emissions that have led to global climate change. These strategies take two primary forms: reducing actual emissions and increasing the planet's ability to store carbon. Emissions reductions involve quantitative decreases in the amount of carbon and other greenhouse gases being released into the atmosphere by the extraction, production, and combustion of fossil fuels and certain industrial processes. Approaches that increase carbon storage boost nature's capacity to absorb atmospheric carbon include tree-planting and other restorative land-use techniques that enhance the planet's carbon storage capabilities.

Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a multidisciplinary database and thus can be used to find information on research paper topics for any of your classes at Cañada College. This database includes newspaper articles, magazine articles, academic journal articles, images, and reports.
Access Science Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
Access Science is an online encyclopedia that provides overview information on science topics. This database includes definitions, biographies, encyclopedia, articles, images, study guides, bibliographies.
Business Source Elite This link opens in a new window
Business Source Elite provides full-text coverage of scholarly business, management and economics journals. This collection also includes publications covering topics such as accounting, banking, finance, international business, marketing, sales, etc. In this database you will find articles from 1,000 Business Publications, over 10,000 Company Profiles, and more.
Environmental Studies and Policy (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: Environmental Studies and Policy answers inquiries about environmental concerns with coverage journals and reference content from Delmar and diverse perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policymakers, and corporate interests.
Environmental Studies in Context This link opens in a new window
Gale In Context: Environmental Studies focuses on the physical and social aspects of environmental issues. Topic, organization, state and province portals form research centers around issues covering earth systems, global change, land and water use, populations, legislation, and more. Overviews provide essential information, supplemented by academic journals, news, case studies, conferences, statistics, and rich multimedia.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Formally Gale Virtual Reference Library, Gale eBooks is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7. Because each library creates its own eBook collection, the content you see may vary if you use the database at different libraries (your school, your public library, or your office).
Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new window
Features hundreds of continuously updated issue and country portals that bring together a variety of specially selected, relevant sources for analysis of these issues. Includes rich multimedia.
Issues and Controversies This link opens in a new window
Issues & Controversies offers extensive, exclusive, and objective analysis of hundreds of today’s hot topics and conflicts by presenting the key facts, arguments, history, and current context of today’s most important issues, along with a wealth of primary sources, videos, and relevant media coverage, making it an ideal resource for research papers, debate preparation, and persuasive writing assignments.
OneSearch This link opens in a new window
Search most of the library databases, eBooks, physical collection, and open access resources all in one place. OneSearch provides simple, one-stop searching for books, videos, articles, digital media, and more.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the solution features continuously updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
ProQuest Natural Science Collection This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Natural Science Collection is a definitive resource for students studying both the applied and general sciences. It includes nearly 1,000 science journals, many peer-reviewed, in the areas of Physics, Astronomy, Biology, Earth Science and Chemistry. This database includes academic journal articles, professional (trade) articles, magazine articles, newspaper articles, images including charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, and photos.
Science in Context This link opens in a new window
Gale In Context: Science is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. The solution merges Gale's authoritative and continuously updated reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista statistics on everything from business, politics, society, and more. Find statistics, infographics, industry reports, industry forecasts, and more!
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
The Wall Street Journal is a news source that focuses on business issues but also includes articles on society, politics, and more. Cañada College Library has joined the Wall Street Journal in a collaboration that will provide students, faculty, and staff with direct access to the Journal. You can use your Cañada-sponsored WSJ membership to research topics relevant to your courses and careers, save and share pertinent articles with others, follow companies and industries that interest you, track real-time stories and trends, and follow coverage of arts, culture, and life.
For more information check out our Wall Street Journal FAQ Guide: https://guides.canadacollege.edu/wsj/FAQ