LibGuides: Deepfake Technology: Databases

Searching the Databases

To search the Library databases for articles, the simplest place to start is by entering your keywords on OneSearch on the library homepage. These keywords and topics can be searched on the library databases and on Google for sources outside the library. As always, make sure to vet your sources.

Keywords – for exploring a this topic

Chatbots (or “bots”)	Cognitive science	Machine learning
Inductive reasoning	Natural Language Processing (NLP)	Image recognition (or “computer vision”)
Neural networks	Deep learning	Biogenic emissions
Supervised learning	Semantic analysis	Algorithm
Unsupervised learning	Cluster	Data mining
Artificial Neural Networks (ANN)	Heuristics	Turing test
Artificial Intelligence (AI)	Weights	Pruning
Case-Based Reasoning (CBR)	Weak AI	Strong AI

Gale eBooks

Artificial Intelligence - Encyclopedia of Emerging Industries (7th ed.)
In the simplest terms, the artificial intelligence (AI) industry seeks to create machines that are capable of learning and intelligent thinking. It includes the development of computer-based systems that can learn from past behaviors and apply that knowledge to solving future problems. AI, which predates the computer age, draws from a variety of academic fields, including mathematics, computer science, linguistics, engineering, physiology, philosophy, and psychology. Although it did not truly emerge as a stand-alone field of study until the late 1940s, the foundation for AI was formed by logicians, philosophers, and mathematicians during the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.
Artificial Intelligence - Encyclopedia of Management (Vol. 1. 8th ed.)
Artificial intelligence (AI) refers to computer software that exhibits intelligent behavior. The term “intelligence” is difficult to define and has been the subject of heated debate by philosophers, educators, and psychologists for generations. Nevertheless, it is possible to enumerate many important characteristics of intelligent behavior. Intelligence includes the capacity to learn, maintain a large storehouse of knowledge, utilize commonsense reasoning, apply analytical abilities, discern relationships between facts, communicate ideas to others and understand communications from others, and perceive and make sense of the world around us. Thus, artificial intelligence systems are computer programs that exhibit one or more of these behaviors.
Artificial Intelligence - Encyclopedia of Business and Finance (Vol. 1. 3rd ed.)
Artificial Intelligence (AI) is the branch of computer science and engineering devoted to the creation of intelligent machines and the software to run them. This process is “artificial” because once it is programmed into the machine, it occurs without human intervention. AI is generally applied to the theory and practical application of a computer's ability to think as humans do. AI capability is designated as either strong AI or weak AI. Strong AI is a computer system that employs an active consciousness in its decision making. This is a machine that can reason, reach logical (and correct) conclusions, and solve problems independently. Critics of AI systems argue that such a machine is unrealistic, and even if it were possible, a true artificially intelligent machine is unwanted due to ethical concerns or the overt fear of “conscious machines” turning on their human creators.

CQ Researcher

Algorithms and Artificial Intelligence - Are they being used in harmful ways?
Algorithms increasingly shape modern life, helping Wall Street to decide stock trades, Netflix to recommend movies and judges to dispense justice. But critics say algorithms — the seemingly inscrutable computational tools that help give artificial intelligence (AI) the ability to “think” and “learn” — can lead to skewed results and sometimes social harm. AI might help mortgage companies decide whom to lend to, but qualified borrowers can be rejected if the underlying algorithms are faulty. Companies might use AI to screen job applicants, but skilled talent can be turned away if the algorithms reflect racial or gender bias. Moreover, the use of algorithms is raising difficult questions about who — if anyone — is liable when AI results in injury. The technology is even stirring fears of an AI apocalypse in which computers become so powerful and autonomous that they threaten humankind. Some experts want the federal government to strictly regulate AI to ensure it is not misused, but critics fear more rules would stifle the technology.
The Future of Artificial Intelligence - Can it be successfully regulated?
As the use of artificial intelligence (AI) continues to rapidly grow and evolve, some philosophers envision that robots will be as smart and self-aware as humans in the next few decades. Others call that fantasy. While the United States leads the world in AI, new evaluations suggest that without a concerted government effort, it could easily lose the technological race to China. Some experts say that could spell dire consequences for the nation's economy and national security. To help keep the country on top, President Biden recently signed a law to spend billions over the next decade on semiconductor chip research and production. On the international front, the European Union (EU) is continuing to push for more regulations around AI, amid research that shows some inherent flaws in algorithms. Many human rights groups and some U.N. member states are calling for a ban on lethal autonomous weapons — armaments powered by AI that can operate without human involvement.

Opposing Viewpoint in Context

Artificial Intelligence - Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Artificial intelligence (AI) refers to the broad branch of computer science focused on creating systems capable of performing human tasks. AI systems can take the form of software (e.g., algorithms), hardware (e.g., robotic arms on an assembly line), or a combination of both (e.g., semi-autonomous vehicles). While the term "artificial intelligence" may bring to mind images of sentient humanoid robots like those of popular science fiction literature and film, most AI exists as computer systems composed of algorithms and large amounts of data entered by humans. Because they simulate human intelligence, AI systems depend upon human input to acquire skills, knowledge, and reasoning. AI has enabled the automation of many tasks, from grading exams and transcribing spoken words to vacuuming carpets and driving cars.

Databases

OneSearch This link opens in a new window
Search most of the library databases, eBooks, physical collection, and open access resources all in one place. OneSearch provides simple, one-stop searching for books, videos, articles, digital media, and more.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a multidisciplinary database and thus can be used to find information on research paper topics for any of your classes at Cañada College. This database includes newspaper articles, magazine articles, academic journal articles, images, and reports.
Access Science Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
Access Science is an online encyclopedia that provides overview information on science topics. This database includes definitions, biographies, encyclopedia, articles, images, study guides, bibliographies.
Business (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: Business contains full-text coverage of all business disciplines, including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, and business theory and practice. Features leading business and trade publications, updated daily.
Business Insights This link opens in a new window
Business Insights is a unique source for international business intelligence offering the most comprehensive and convenient way to find case studies, in-depth statistical data coupled with deep research, and the ability to compare global economies, countries and industries.
Business Source Elite This link opens in a new window
Business Source Elite provides full-text coverage of scholarly business, management and economics journals. This collection also includes publications covering topics such as accounting, banking, finance, international business, marketing, sales, etc. In this database you will find articles from 1,000 Business Publications, over 10,000 Company Profiles, and more.
Computer Science (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: Computer Science provides access to leading business and technical publications in the computer, telecommunications, and electronics industries. The database provides information on computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas like hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications, and the application of technology.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher includes current, hot topic reports providing unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
Criminal Justice (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: Criminal Justice informs the research process for researchers who are studying law, law enforcement, or terrorism; training for paralegal service; preparing for a career in homeland security; delving into forensic science; investigating crime scenes; developing policy; going to court; writing sociological reports; and much more.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Formally Gale Virtual Reference Library, Gale eBooks is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7. Because each library creates its own eBook collection, the content you see may vary if you use the database at different libraries (your school, your public library, or your office).
Issues and Controversies This link opens in a new window
Issues & Controversies offers extensive, exclusive, and objective analysis of hundreds of today’s hot topics and conflicts by presenting the key facts, arguments, history, and current context of today’s most important issues, along with a wealth of primary sources, videos, and relevant media coverage, making it an ideal resource for research papers, debate preparation, and persuasive writing assignments.
New York Times This link opens in a new window
Cañada College Library offers online New York Times accounts for all students, staff, and faculty. This includes unlimited access via mobile apps on tablets and smart phones. NYTimes.com accounts are good for one year for eligible Cañada College community members only (current students, staff, and faculty), after which accounts need to be renewed.
For more information check out our NYT guide https://guides.canadacollege.edu/newyorktimes
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source includes more than 1,000 full-text newspapers, providing more than 38 million full-text articles.
O'Reilly Learning (Safari Tech Books Online) This link opens in a new window
O'Reilly Learning (formally Safari Tech Books) contains eBooks, videos, learning paths, audio books, and more on the latest in technology and business trends.