LibGuides: Gig Economy: Databases

Searching the Databases

To search the Library databases for articles, the simplest place to start is by entering your keywords on OneSearch on the library homepage. These keywords and topics can be searched on the library databases and on Google for sources outside the library. As always, make sure to vet your sources.

Keywords – for exploring a this topic

Gig economy	Rideshare	Food delivery
Uber	Lyft	Doordash
Driver tips	Grubhub	U.S. Department of Labor
Tipping culture	Entrpreneur	Self-employed
Side huste	Hustle culture	U.S. Bureau of Labor Statisticsm
Freelance	Temporary workers	Temps
Part-time jobs	Contract jobs	Fiverr
Gig work	On-demand	Labor Market

Databases

OneSearch This link opens in a new window
Search most of the library databases, eBooks, physical collection, and open access resources all in one place. OneSearch provides simple, one-stop searching for books, videos, articles, digital media, and more.
New York Times This link opens in a new window
Cañada College Library offers online New York Times accounts for all students, staff, and faculty. This includes unlimited access via mobile apps on tablets and smart phones. NYTimes.com accounts are good for one year for eligible Cañada College community members only (current students, staff, and faculty), after which accounts need to be renewed.
For more information check out our NYT guide https://guides.canadacollege.edu/newyorktimes
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
The Wall Street Journal is a news source that focuses on business issues but also includes articles on society, politics, and more. Cañada College Library has joined the Wall Street Journal in a collaboration that will provide students, faculty, and staff with direct access to the Journal. You can use your Cañada-sponsored WSJ membership to research topics relevant to your courses and careers, save and share pertinent articles with others, follow companies and industries that interest you, track real-time stories and trends, and follow coverage of arts, culture, and life.
For more information check out our Wall Street Journal FAQ Guide: https://guides.canadacollege.edu/wsj/FAQ
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a multidisciplinary database and thus can be used to find information on research paper topics for any of your classes at Cañada College. This database includes newspaper articles, magazine articles, academic journal articles, images, and reports.
Business Source Elite This link opens in a new window
Business Source Elite provides full-text coverage of scholarly business, management and economics journals. This collection also includes publications covering topics such as accounting, banking, finance, international business, marketing, sales, etc. In this database you will find articles from 1,000 Business Publications, over 10,000 Company Profiles, and more.
Computer Science (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: Computer Science provides access to leading business and technical publications in the computer, telecommunications, and electronics industries. The database provides information on computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas like hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications, and the application of technology.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher includes current, hot topic reports providing unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
EBSCO eBooks This link opens in a new window
eBooks: Academic Collections searches and views the full text of eBooks. This database contains a large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter.
Entrepreneurship (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: Entrepreneurship provides insights, tips, strategies, and success stories for business schools and entrepreneurs.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Formally Gale Virtual Reference Library, Gale eBooks is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7. Because each library creates its own eBook collection, the content you see may vary if you use the database at different libraries (your school, your public library, or your office).
O'Reilly Learning (Safari Tech Books Online) This link opens in a new window
O'Reilly Learning (formally Safari Tech Books) contains eBooks, videos, learning paths, audio books, and more on the latest in technology and business trends.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the solution features continuously updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
Science in Context This link opens in a new window
Gale In Context: Science is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. The solution merges Gale's authoritative and continuously updated reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista statistics on everything from business, politics, society, and more. Find statistics, infographics, industry reports, industry forecasts, and more!
War and Terrorism (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: War and Terrorism contains millions of articles to help researchers gain valuable insight into conflicts and their causes, impact, and perception on a global scale. This definitive collection is intended for analysts, risk management professionals, and students of military science, history, and social science.

Opposing Viewpoint in Context

The gig economy is central in the fight for workers' rights
The summer of 2023 has been electric for the labor movement. Unofficially dubbed "hot strike summer," workers from janitors to UPS drivers to Hollywood actors have threatened or engaged in work stoppages at rates not seen since the 1980s, with the support of a majority of Americans.

Buried in the midst of high-profile labor negotiations was a major labor victory by less-heralded members of the entertainment industry that will likely impact a large swath of the labor market.

In June, the National Labor Relations Review Board (NLRB), the federal agency charged with protecting the rights of workers to organize, issued a ruling in favor of the makeup artists, hair stylists and wig artists who provide services for the Atlanta Opera. The subsequent rules change could make it easier for millions of American workers to organize, unionize and strike to protect their shared interests. The ruling broadened the conditions a company had to meet to classify a worker as an independent contractor rather than an employee.
3 Observations and Predictions about Affirmative Action in Universities Moving Forward
Following the recent Supreme Court decision overturning race-conscious admissions, certain sections of the media have adopted an alarmist tone, fueling doomsday predictions. Others are keen to celebrate the end of discriminatory practices that educational institutions have adopted for nearly 60 years.

On the margin, it may very well seem like the end of diverse classrooms. But incentives matter. I do not believe much will change, but I do believe that the actions taken by the high court will be an overall net good for the median student applying to college, regardless of ethnic background.
What the Supreme Court's DACA ruling means for undocumented students and the colleges and universities they attend
President Barack Obama signed the Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals executive memorandum on June 15, 2012 to provide 1.2 million undocumented young people with two-year work permits and temporary relief from deportation. Since this program went into effect, approximately 800,000 undocumented immigrants have obtained DACA status, including about 643,000 with it today. The permits are renewable 120 days before the expiration date as long as the DACA program is in place.

Studies have shown that DACA has improved the chances for undocumented people to complete high school, go to college, attend grad school and get higher-paying jobs.

On Sept. 5, 2017, President Donald Trump declared that his administration would phase the DACA program out. Subsequently, several lawsuits were filed challenging DACA's termination. On June 28, 2019 the Supreme Court agreed to consolidate and consider three of these cases.

In this single ruling nearly a year later, a majority of the justices deemed the legal process Trump used in his attempt to end DACA to be "arbitrary and capricious." They ruled that his administration lacked a clear rationale for ending the DACA program.