LibGuides: Primary Sources American History: American 20th Century

Gale eBooks

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Formally Gale Virtual Reference Library, Gale eBooks is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7. Because each library creates its own eBook collection, the content you see may vary if you use the database at different libraries (your school, your public library, or your office).

Primary Documents by Cynthia Rose (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780787665876
Publication Date: 2003-12-05
Cross-disciplinary source spanning the 20th century. Each volume in the set includes full or excerpted primary sources representing the seminal issues, themes, movements and events from a decade. Includes oral histories, songs, speeches, advertisements, TV, play and movie scripts, letters, laws, legal decisions, newspaper articles, cartoons, recipes, and more.
The Great Migration North, 1910-1970 by Laurie L. Harris
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780780811867
Publication Date: 2011-12-21
Explains the social and economic factors that drove the African-American exodus out of the rural South to the industrial cities of the North during the first half of the twentieth century.
LGBTQ Events by Salem Press
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781682178942
Publication Date: 2018-06-30
This collection offers analysis of primary source documents drawn from the ongoing movement to achieve recognition and equality for members of the LGBTQ+ community. Organized by historical groupings, each document is supported by a critical essay, written by historians and teachers, that includes: Summary Overview; Defining Moment; Author Biography; Document Analysis; and Essential Themes. Glossary, Chronology, Further Readings, and Web Resources are also included.
The World of Jim Crow America: A Daily Life Encyclopedia by Steven A. Reich (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781440850806
Publication Date: 2019-06-24
This book provides important details about the daily lives of African Americans during the Jim Crow era in America. It covers the hundred-year period of enforced legal segregation that began immediately after the Civil War and continued until the passage of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 and Voting Rights Act of 1965.

Newspaper Archives

NewspaperArchive This link opens in a new window
Search historical newspapers online, contains tens of millions of newspaper pages from 1607 to present. Every newspaper in the archive is fully searchable by keyword, location, publication, and date, making it easy for you to quickly explore historical content.