A database is an online collection of resources. Library databases often contain articles from newspapers, magazines and academic journals, but can also contain reference sources, books, reports and a variety of other resources.
Databases are often grouped according to subject matter, like the Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection or the Natural Sciences Collection, or by format, like Films on Demand.
Browse ALL Cañada's databases by CLICKING HERE -- OR select a specific database below.
OneSearch is a "discovery" tool that allows you to find - with just "one search" - most library resources that are contained in the library catalog and databases.
You can find OneSearch on the Library's homepage. https://canadacollege.edu/library/
For example, if you type Rosa Parks in OneSearch, you will find:
Sometimes it's better to go to a specific database first (like Biography, History or Films on Demand) so that you won't be overwhelmed by TOO MUCH information.
Here are two tutorials that help you search OneSearch:
Tutorial for OneSearch (English)
Tutorial for OneSearch (in Spanish)
Find contextual information on influential and historically significant people. This database includes reference content, periodicals, multimedia, and more. Search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender as well as keyword and full text.
In this database, the citation is the first symbol showing quotation marks. Click Select, then copy and paste to your Works Cited slide.
U.S. History is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History. U.S. History merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
In this database, the citation is the first symbol showing quotation marks. Click Select, then copy and paste the MLA citation into your Works Cited slide.
Films on Demand is an online library of streaming educational videos, documentaries, and news videos covering a wide range of educational topics. These videos cover various subjects including, Anthropology, Nursing, History, Languages, etc. Videos include closed captioning and transcripts. Links to individual film titles and segments can be shared via Canvas, email or your personal website.
In this database, click on Cite ". Then copy and paste the MLA citation into your Google slide.
