eBooks: Academic Collections searches and views the full text of eBooks. This database contains a large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter.
Formally Gale Virtual Reference Library, Gale eBooks is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7. Because each library creates its own eBook collection, the content you see may vary if you use the database at different libraries (your school, your public library, or your office).
Try going to Advanced Search and limiting your search to
Sometimes you have to play around with keywords for a while to find the right terms. If you were looking for information about your health, you might try different keywords:
| Communication | |
| Communication in... (business, law enforcement, design, etc.) | |
| Visual Communication | |
| Body language | |
| Nonverbal communication | |
| Media | |
| Interpersonal communication | |
| Intercultural communication |
As you do your research, keep a list of keywords that help you get to the information you are looking for.
|
Keyword |
vs. |
Subject |
|
Gives the computer words to look for. A good way to start your search. |
|
Tells the computer to only look for materials that have been tagged as about the subject by a librarian. |
|
More flexible – you can combine any words you think of. |
|
Less flexible – you have to write the subject exactly as the librarian tagged it or it won’t work. |
|
A lot of results, but many not related to what you need. |
|
Less, more focused and relevant |
What are other Keywords have come up in your readings about education so far?
What do you get if you combine the subject: education with some of these keywords?