Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
To access Cañada Library's databases, you will need go to the library's homepage and select the Articles tab. Click on the database name you would like to access from the Browse Databases From A-Z pull down menu.
If you are off campus, you will need to log in with your library card number and pin (last for digits of your phone number).
Academic Search Premier Database
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a multidisciplinary database and thus can be used to find information on research paper topics for any of your classes at Cañada College. This database includes newspaper articles, magazine articles, academic journal articles, images, and reports.
Access Science Database
Access Science Encyclopedia
Access Science is an online encyclopedia that provides overview information on science topics. This database includes:
Biography in Context database
Biography in Context
Gale In Context: Biography is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on the world's most influential people. Biography merges Gale's authoritative reference content with periodicals and multimedia organized into a user-friendly portal experience while allowing users to search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender as well as keyword and full text.
CQ Researcher Database
CQ Research includes current, hot topic reports providing unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
Health Source: Consumer Edition Database
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides information on many health topics with a strong focus on nursing and allied health articles. This database includes scholarly journal articles, magazine articles, and trade publication articles.
JSTOR includes over one thousand high-quality academic journals across the sciences, humanities, social sciences, arts and economics/business.
Films on Demand
Films on Demand
Films on Demand is an online library of streaming videos, covering a wide range of educational topics making it easily accessible to you and your students. Subscription includes various subjects including, Anthropology, Nursing, History, Languages, etc. Links to individual film titles and segments can be shared with your students via Canvas, email or your personal website.
Super Search is a "one-stop" search engine that searches across the library's catalog and many of our library's databases like Academic Search Complete, EBSCO eBooks, Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection, and Business Source Elite. Just type in your topic (keyword) and hit the search button to retrieve results. Results include: newspaper articles, magazine articles, academic journal articles, eBooks, and more.
Formally Gale Virtual Reference Library, Gale eBooks is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7. Because each library creates its own eBook collection, the content you see may vary if you use the database at different libraries (your school, your public library, or your office).
Statista statistics on everything from business, politics, society, and more. Find statistics, infographics, industry reports, industry forecasts, and more!
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center database
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center focuses on controversial issues; overviews; conflicting viewpoints; articles are mainly from popular sources. View the tutorial on how to conduct a search in this database here.